help exchange   Host 46264
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 55
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46264
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 10, 2017

Hi my name is Stella, I live in the beautiful Nire Valley in southern Ireland. We have a little herd of Kerry Bog ponies which graze the scrubland.

I am caretaker only; Vicky who spends most of her time in England looking after her mum is the owner.
I need help in the garden i really don t have the energy to maintain it anymore -it would be a shame to let it go. We are also looking for help with the ponies especially when the foals are born in march and April. There are dry stone walls which need rebuilding and I appreciate there is skill needed for this so if you are a drystonewall builder and you want to stay in this area for a time we would be thrilled!..
As far as the veg plot is concerned you can take over completely.
This is an organic farm ,the water comes off the hill which is wonderful,and the anaerobic digester provides superb compost which grows great beans ,raspberries potatoes and much more.
There is a caravan for volunteers who like more privacy but people always like the house ! I have moved into the caravan for some weeks during the summer because I love the extra connection to nature and opening the door to the great view of the comeragh mounts.

We built the polytunnel from recycled trampolines. I wish to mind the land and recycle as much as possible and there is plenty of interesting rubbish !
I enjoy cooking . my choice is vegan food with as southern india influence ,tho I aim to please, I can turn my hand to anything in the kitchen.
There is a caravan, a cabin and a 3 bedroom stone traditional house.
Creativity and inspiration, enthusiasm, all welcome what do you think?
I welcome help of any kind as it is a bit too much just for one! Vicky who owns everything is only here once a month due to circumstances beyond her control.
The location is scenic, which helps get us through the day.
A bit about myself. My family have mostly left the nest now so I can get back to doing my thing being as close to nature and living sustainably as possible. I teach yoga for a living and am away 3 days a week every week in the Midlands. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing place to look after there is room in the house for another Long stays preferred.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use