help exchange   Host 46397
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Tualatin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .10
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46397
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 6, 2020

**we are booked up until the end of April now, if you find the Pacific Northwest is calling to you in the spring please do reach out.**

We are a family of 3 living in 3 bedroom house just outside Portland, Oregon and really enjoy the exchange of culture when meeting new travelers or friends.

Have started a bit of an urban homestead on our quarter-acre lot - 12 raised bed vegetable gardens, blueberry/raspberries, pear and fig trees etc. Through a local bee-share we recently added a hive to our property last spring. We have taken on a new challenge of doing some refreshing both outside and inside the house that we would love your help with. Outside is in full swing right now as we are adding fruit trees and reintroducing native plants back into the yard.

Someone with general handy skills would be able to help around the house. Or maybe you like to craft in the kitchen instead? Be challenged to games by a precocious munchkin? If you are more of an outside person or have green thumb - help with gardening or landscaping would be ideal. We would be happy to develop a helper plan with you based on a combination of the above activities that you do well and enjoy doing. Or maybe you have a unique skill you'd like to share instead?

You'll be working alongside us or solo for about 3-4 hours a day about 4-5 days a week in exchange for staying with us in our home - private bedroom, shared bath (if another helper is here) and meals with us if desired. Our house is 3-5 minutes from public transportation (bus and weekday commuter rail) and a 20-25 min ride to downtown Portland.

We're happy to help others learn or sharpen their English and love to learn about what a "day in the life" looks like for you. Your travels adventures and stories are always welcome! During weekday and weekend free time we are happy to help you get to know Portland and the Pacific Northwest. We like to camp, ride bikes, tour the parks and beaches, go to movies, hang out and BBQ on the patio. We love to share our city with others, and will be happy to show helpers around town. We have a great live music scene, a bookstore that takes up a whole city block, and wonderful parks and museums just 20 mins aways.

We are smoke/drug free and prefer low-key, cat friendly persons only. We keep our house clean but definitely not neat freaks… we have active life. Reach out with any questions and we'd be happy to give you a virtual tour too!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use