help exchange   Host 46423
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


telegraph creek
All Year: no
Area (ha): 11.3
Persons: 2 or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46423
Region: BC, Northern

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 6, 2020

Now booking for Spring 2020.--
The Big Question: the Tahltan Band (ie. the Native,local, and only, govt.) is VERY VERY CONCERNED about "outsiders" coming in, spreading covid-19--its not in TC yet, hope it stays that way. I'm hoping they let ME in! (I'm still in Victoria, hoping to head north mid-month) Think they will, if I promise to self-isolate, etc. They have been considering closing the road, allowing only essential services thru..I will be calling/e-mailing their TC office soon, to find out their position on "returnees" like me. It may be a hard sell to convince them to let you in (ie. people I haven't even met yet.) If I could convince them we will do ALL protocols asked of us, maybe there's a chance...
Its a 3 days drive myself to get home.
It'd be a great place to "wait out" covid-19, and there's plenty to do in your off-time while staying with me.

Located 15km beyond beautiful, unique, and historic Telegraph Creek in the Stikine Valley of NW BC, 3 Sisters is a rustic and gorgeous property of 28 acres. It is situated on unceeded Tahltan (First Nations) Territory.
There is an endless variety of things to do in your off-time, including kayaking/canoeing the Stikine River or nearby lakes; hiking/climbing Glenora Mt. (I live at the base of it) or any number of trails in the area; fishing for salmon in season, trout all year; boating--I've got the boat--sight-seeing/photography, the list goes on.
I'm seeking help as follows: carpentry work in and out of my log house (with frame addition); minor fencing work; help to tear down our original house (across the creek); help install my wood-heated hot water system; help maintain--and EAT--the large and productive garden; I could go on, but there is always PLENTY to do in such a lifestyle.
Skill sets that would be useful; carpentry/building; plumbing; general maintenance/repair; gardening/landscaping; fencing.
There is a private guest room, tho a couple may prefer to camp, or stay in a wall tent--there are several beautiful camping spots on the property--my house has running cold water, 2 bathrooms, but no toilet--outhouse instead--regular phone service but no internet (but available nearby). I am hoping to have internet installed very soon.
I head south to Victoria around Xmas, and return in April, usually. Spring is distractingly gorgeous, as birds return and life surges back into full leaf! July/August is best for eating garden and the local Chinook and sockeye salmon.
I am willing to drive out to Dease Lk., and escort/guide you from there into Telegraph Creek, as the road can be scarey for 1st-timers.
I'd prefer a minimum 2 week stay, but am willing to discuss a shorter stay if necessary. Having your own wheels makes you independent while visiting, but is not required.
Hope to hear from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use