help exchange   Host 4648
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4648
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 6, 2019

Our names are Mel and Tom - we bought our property in August 2007 and now live as self-sufficiently as possible using all our own produce and preserving many of our crops to use over winter. We’re a family of four - our two boys are aged 14 and 18 and speak fluent French having been here for most of their school lives. Mel is also an artist and there is a studio on site.

We grow completely organic vegetables in our large vegetable garden and polytunnel and have fig trees, a damson plum and a pear tree among others - we’re looking forward to a big crop over the summer months. We grow organic, medicinal herbs which, if you’re interested in this, we can teach you about too.There are also blackberries and elderberries to harvest that grow wild on the property - lovely for jam and jellies!

There is ongoing work in the vegetable garden with weeding, watering and harvesting. At the height of the late summer there will be a lot of processing of tomatoes and other fruit and vegetables into soups, sauces, jams etc - this is an area we can show you techniques for that you can then try yourself back home too!

Animals are a big part of life here. There are chickens,ducks,two pigs one dog and six cats.

The current projects include renovating and rebuilding the interior of the old house on the property which we are using largely eco-building techniques for such as lime plaster on the exterior, hemp insulation and reclaimed timber.

Accommodation is in a caravan, and we can co-ordinate picking you up from the nearest village.

We ask for about 25 hours work per week in exchange for meals and accommodation. Singles and couples are welcome. Please call or e-mail and let us know if you have any questions.

There is plenty to do in the local region if you have your own transport and if not, you’re welcome to join our family when we go out to the local market and around the area.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use