help exchange   Host 46779
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 15
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46779
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 31, 2017

Hello Helpers,

We are many families and single people living together, from 1month old to 80 years old, in the small village of Sus (south-west of France), near the medieval town of Navarrenx which is on the Saint James way.
We have been living there for the last 30 years, having people joining us all along. Sharing everything in common, our home is open to anyone.
We all live in a big castle ; families have their own apartment, single men live together, so do single women in their appartment. You will stay according to your own situation, either as a family or as an individual. We home-school our children (around 30).

We are doing many different activities you will be able to take part of depending on the needs.
Here is the list of the main things we do : organic bakery, pastry, organic gardening with donkeys or tractor, including harvesting, woodwork, going to several local markets, etc. We also take good care of our chickens, sheep, goats and cows, not counting the working hours, as we all benefit from the work being done here.
We also have a big house in need to be completely restored inside, being one of our main projects in the near future.

At one gate of our property is installed a farm-stand for selling our fresh products and welcome visitors, customers and walkers.

Every morning and evening, we gather in a huge wooden lodge (hexagonal building) to dance, sing and share our heart. There we eat all together three meals a day. We have dance class every Monday evening.
We stop working on Saturday/Shabbat, to rest, enjoy playing volleyball, have games with our children or go for a walk together.

Generous food is provided, so are the care of your laundry and some needs you may have, according to our possibility.
As you will be sharing our life, you will discover a different environment and a rich culture.
Most of our people speak French and English, some Spanish, German, Portuguese, Italian.
We all come from different paths of life, but one thing we had in common, is that we were not satisfied with the way the world is and the course of our life.

The focus is not to grow organic food, have a farm-life or reject society, above all, we desire to learn how to take care of one another and become real friends. Then a different way to raise up children, organic food and happy animals follow.

Our story is a love story that makes us live and stay together.

If you like what you read, you are more than welcome to come spend some time with us. For a day or to stay !

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use