help exchange   Host 46806
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

County Clare
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.64
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 46806
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 25, 2018

We have lived, designed, built, grown and caretaked our home for the last 19 years. Fergus is is chartered building surveyor who works from home, he has a deep understanding of land, buildings, environment, design, sustainability, growing. Lesley was a homeopath, Three Principles Facilitator, who works alongside Fergus and together they have created a bright, warm, homestead.
There is always work to be done. We have a small wood, poly tunnel, gardens, on going building work etc.
We go about life in a careful considered way. We are both 60ish in age.
If you come and stay with us you will be well fed and have dry comfortable accommodation. We are rural with no public transport. We are not the most regular people in the world because of the nature of our work, so flexibility is good. We are very happy to spend time with you, but an independent attitude is essential, we need time to ourselves too and are happy for you to do likewise. there are a number of activities that happen in our community: dancing, traditional music and others.
Currently Fergus has a broken leg and is immobile, so extra help would be appreciated to do the jobs mentioned and just generally assisting with all things. Jobs to be done include washing all of the windows, inside and out, a bit of decorating and changing rooms about, gardening, gathering wood, weeding the little lake. There is always maintenance, painting, sorting and reorganising is always ongoing too etc etc. Any skills you have will be appreciated. We may be getting older but are always learning new things. We are happy to negotiate hours and jobs; if we get along then a long term stay or a stay a while, travel a while and return would work very well - we can become your Irish base/family.
We have hosted wwoofers for many years so are used to hosting. We are a non-smoking household and would really prefer non-smokers.
We eat a large variety of food, organic and local where possible, we eat meat, fish, vegetarian, vegan, not too much gluten, very little processed food and whilst I respect food allergies and vegetarians/vegans, I prefer not to have fussy eaters. My cooking is international, I am passionate about food, most people enjoy it.
The local shop is about 6 kilometres, though we do have a biodynamic farm shop next door.
We have wi-fi but it is not very fast.
We are located between the cities of Galway and Limerick. And between the villages of Feakle and Tulla. There are lakes nearby, Lough Derg being the biggest. The Burren and the coast are less than an hour away as are Bunratty Castle, Cliffs of Moher.
Also on the 'to do list' is sorting through the contents of a large shed and and converting part of it into self contained accommodation.
We have two dogs for walking companions, two cat and two pigs. Sometimes we have hens and lambs.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use