help exchange   Host 47002
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 21 acres
Persons: up to 5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47002
Region: Manitoba

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2016

Spring is in the air and we are taking full advantage by making maple syrup for the first time. We have had a weird spring weather-wise around here and have just started with yard and garden projects.
We have 20 laying hens and a goose. We are really enjoying watching them wander the yard, and collecting the fresh eggs.
Last year we brought a puppy into our lives. Luna is a golden retriever/Great Pyrenees cross who has grown into a very sweet and gentle dog.

We are accepting helpers now and until November or when the weather stops co-operating.

We enjoy having volunteers at different times of the year and the jobs vary a fair bit from one season to the next.
In spring, I am busy with tomatoes, peppers and eggplants in our small greenhouse. I usually start the seeds in the house and transplant out to the greenhouse and the garden as weather allows. I am learning about permaculture and hope to incorporate more of these principles in the vegetable gardening this year.

This year we hope to develop the farm in ways that include more agri-tourism and welcome ideas and help! We may grow sweet corn or pumpkins for roadside sales.

We will be planting 3000 strawberry plants and our garden in May. In June we are weeding the garden and strawberries and preparing for customers and harvest. In July, we harvest and sell strawberries and raspberries, harvest the garden and preserve what we can.

Strawberry harvest is a very big deal here, with hundreds of customers picking their own and purchasing pre-picked berries. We can use all the help possible during this time!

In August, we are busy with garden harvest and preservation (canning, freezing, dehydrating...) and weeding. September brings the first frosts here so vegetable harvest wraps up and we continue processing and canning. These jobs usually overlap into October and November.

As on any farm, we have continuous mechanical and contsruction projects, both repairing what is here and building for the future. We hope to reduce our reliance on electricity by building an outdoor woodburning kitchen. We have some design plans and could use some volunteers to make it happen!

We work hard but I also want the kids to love farm life. We like to take advantage of our flexible schedule by going to the nearby swimming spot, hiking in Spruce Woods, having guests over, having bonfires, spending time with extended family and just playing around.

We usually have a few options for places to stay on the farm. We have a "Campsite" in the back yard as well as a rustic cabin. In the winter, we are only hosting in a spare room with bunk beds in our home as it is too cold for other options.

We would welcome families, couples or individuals.

John works a full time (4 days/week) job in Winnipeg. He would be able to pick up a volunteer there. Every weekend is a long weekend that is focused on the farm and family activities.
I, Pam, am a full time mom, homeschooler, and active volunteer. I am involved in a group promoting sustainable local food systems. In June, a group of us hold a music festival in a nearby town. I am also a La Leche League Leader, and hold monthly meetings to support women interested in breastfeeding.

Our family is primarily vegetarian, though meat is occasionally served. John eats meat but the rest of the family are ovo-lacto vegetarians. We can accomodate other diets such as vegan and gluten free, but not much meat will be prepared in the house. I enjoy cooking and feel that I offer tasty, wholesome and creative food but we work within a budget and with the food available in the local store.
We home-school, so our children 10, 7 and 5 years old are involved in daily farm activities. It would be nice to have volunteers with some experience/patience with regards to children.

We are familiar with having volunteers and employees on our farm. Each person is different with regards to experience, skills and needs so we must always have open communication with anyone who comes to stay. We do not have any expectations with regards to minimum length of stay.

Our farm is located near Glenboro, a town of 800 that has a movie theatre, restaurants and bars, golfing, bakery and library. We are fortunate to be located only 12 km from Spruce Woods Provincial Park (6km from Spruce Woods Forest). It is an excellent location for hiking, swimming, and relaxing. The park has a huge wilderness area, that is so hilly and treed that you would not believe you were still in the prairies.
We have spare bicycles that volunteers can use if they would like. Our house has wi-fi and long distance calling to Canada and the US (Skype for other places).
We believe that we offer a great opportunity because of the experience on the farm, as well as the off-work activities that a visitor can enjoy.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use