help exchange   Host 47046
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 2 but flexible
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47046
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 11, 2017

We are English, but have lived in France for more than eleven years in our Chateau, in the Midi-Pyrenees, which we have recently finished renovating. We would appreciate some help with gardening, and general DIY in the Chateau from May until the end of June. We rent the Chateau for for a few weeks each year, from the beginning of July until mid September, (not every week!) and would possibly need help looking after our guests during that time.
We would welcome help for a minimum of two weeks, but longer if you wish. While not renting, our helpers may use our swimming pool, tennis court, snooker room and exercise room, and bikes. We have two-bedroom accommodation for our helpers, with main meals provided. (We are not vegetarian!) While not renting, we have a leisurely ten o'clock start, and expect our helpers to work about twenty five hours each week. There is wifi in most parts of the Chateau and outbuildings, and UK TV.
We have eight hectares of land, bordered by a stream and a river. Until June each year, we grow the grass for a local farmer, so there is not too much grass cutting until then, but general maintenance in the wooded areas is normally required. Inside the Chateau there are always DIY jobs, some painting, cleaning, etc. We have an ancient tractor, and a ride on mower.
By road our Chateau is approximately one hour south of Toulouse, (the nearest airport) Carcassonne is about one and a half hours, Barcelona three and a half hours, (subject to traffic!), the Mediterranean, (Narbonne) is about two and a half hours away.
We are at the foot of the Pyrenees, in a natural park, with fantastic views, and if you like cycling or hiking you won’t be disappointed. We are surrounded by farms, but we just keep two cats.
I am retired, so David, my brother-in-law does most of the work these days. We would love to welcome helpers who are prepared to give us a hand, and enjoy this area of France at the same time. Please contact us.

reviews (1)
Helper: Javier De la Casa Sánchez Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Spain Date: August 21, 2016
I really enjoyed the days I spend with them. The place is amazing, the food i... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use