help exchange   Host 47246
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Skipton, North Yorkshire
All Year: Now
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47246
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 16, 2018

We are a family with hens who live in the Yorkshire Dales, 7 miles from Skipton and Grassington and 5 miles from Malham Cove. Local attractions and places of interest include Bolton Abbey, Burnsall, Malham Cove (limestone pavement featured on Harry Potter where peregrine falcons are nesting), Kettlewell and there are many interesting walks along the river, on the fells, moors and Dalesway footpath. We are also on the white rose cycle route. There is an abundance of wildlife and birds and on clear nights the stars are beautiful. The area is steeped in history and we could point you in the direction of some 16th Century Pubs including the awesome Craven Arms famous for fantastic locally sourced food complete with a replica Cruck barn.

We live in a semi detached house which isn't huge but we have a spare room with a day bed that can accommodate a single person. We have shared bathroom facilities. There is a TV in the bedroom & we have Sky and you are welcome to watch TV in the livingroom in the evenings. We have space for a camper van/car on the drive. We have wi-fi but as we are so rural it is slow!. You will likely hear/see tawny and barn owls and hedgehogs that frequent our garden.

I am at home full time & am looking for a helper who has au pair or child care experience & enjoys spending time with children. I have one child who is a toddler & a baby & I am looking for help with playing with the children while I am busy in the house and someone who is happy to complete housework & some meal prep. I'm looking for more Mothers help instead of Au Pair as I will be at home with the Helper so it's more an extra pair of hands for me rather than taking sole charge.

It would be great if the Helper was happy to accompany me on trips to the park, swimming pool, shopping etc as part of their agreed volunteer hours.

I would be able to give some lifts to local places for any Helpers that didn't have their own transport. I've previously been a Helper which I enjoyed. My motivation to become a host is to have some mothers help whilst at the same time being able to offer a warm and comfortable rural place to stay. Our home is rural - 15 min drive to the nearest shop therefore please consider this before getting in touch.

For Helpers wishing to stay in the house we can offer stays with help required for 5 hours per day with two days off per week. We will provide food for breakfast, lunch and tea however I may not always be able to cook something for you so there may be some self catering required. If the Helper wanted to earn some money in their spare time there are numerous Pubs in the area usually looking for casual staff to work on the bar or serve food and we could possibly help to organise that.

We are unable to accept Helpers for stays of less than 1 month. As I will be with the Helper during the time they are helping this would be a good placement for someone wanting to improve their English.

We are unable to offer hosting to Helpers who wish to consume alcohol in the house during their stay and are looking for non smokers who are friendly, easy going, positive people who like children. We would require comprehensive references of previous au pair/childcare experience.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use