help exchange   Host 47290
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Achadinha
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 47290
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 24, 2020

My husband and I live in the middle of the Atlantic, on the beautiful island of São Miguel, with our cat, dogs, chickens and roosters. We have a home overlooking the ocean and walking distance to the beautiful hiking trails called Poço Azul and Lomba D'el Rei. I'm a holistic health coach and my husband is a conscious dairy farmer. Our small dairy farm is about 3 minutes away (by car). We work on a rotational pasture grazing system and our cows are pasture-raised and primarily grass-fed and quite happy. Our goal is to become a holistically managed farm practicing regenerative agriculture while providing artisanal raw dairy products. We love to spend our days outdoors, whether it be on the farm, in the ocean, soaking in the hot springs, crocheting on a bench, or exploring new trails.

My husband was born and raised in Sao Miguel and I was born in California to Azorean parents. I'm a native English speaker and my family always spoke Portuguese at home. I learned Spanish in school and lived in Chile, but it's gotten rusty. My husband is a native Portuguese speaker and learned English while we lived in California; he picked up Spanish immediately at work. So, we'd be happy to speak in any of these languages during your stay with us.

We receive many messages expressing interest in volunteering. Since our time is limited, please provide the following information when messaging us, otherwise we may not respond:

1. Review our list of projects and state which project(s) you feel your skills could be of most use.

2. Send us a link to any samples of your talent (i.e. your art, a website you built, photos you've taken, etc.) or request our email address and you can send them in that manner.

3. State when and for how long you are interested in volunteering.

PROJECT LIST:

A. Cooking and Cleaning - We need someone to make meals, clean up afterwards, and deep clean the house so we're all in a comfortable environment. This is for you if you're one of those people that loves cleaning, organizing, and creating meals to share. We'd like to begin a low-FODMAP or GAPS diet protocol (GAPS = Gut & Psychology Syndrome) and can speak to you further about what this entails.

B. Social Media Marketing / Videography / SEO - We need skilled volunteers in this area for both my holistic health coaching business and the farm, which are housed on one website under the brand ÂMAGO. We need help getting our marketing plan accomplished. Some things to work on: marketing strategies (concept development, timelines, budgeting, etc.), online marketing (SEO, adding content to social media pages, creating videos, etc.).

C. General Farm Work - If you're not intimidated or put off by things like physical work or shoveling dung then you'll do awesome. Working on the farm will give you the opportunity to get out of climate controlled indoor environments and be close to animals and nature while learning first hand about the challenges farmers face to put food on people's plates.

D. Dairy Farming - If you have dairy farming experience or have a related degree, we're interested in having someone help us make some changes to our operation. We're interested in things such as raw dairy farming, beginning a cow share program, biodynamics, silvopasture, agroforestry, holistic land management, regenerative agriculture, and alternative dairy farming innovations (i.e. creating fly barrels; wind power; etc.). If you have an idea as to how to make our dairy farm more sustainable, non-toxic, organic, etc....we'd love to hear.

E. Raw Milk Products - Do you know how to make products from raw milk such as butter, ghee, buttermilk, curd, yogurt, etc.? If so, come share your knowledge with us!

F. Teacher of European Portuguese - I was raised speaking Portuguese, but never learned the written rules and need to expand my abilities when it comes to speaking and writing in a formal or business setting.

G. Carpentry - We need to make minor repairs to various pieces of vintage furniture.

H. Interior painting - We have a few rooms that need a fresh coat of paint.

We are asking volunteers to commit 5 days a week/5 hours per day. In return, we can offer you a private bedroom and 3 meals a day/ 5 days a week (we do not provide food on your days off). The meals can be anything from soup or bread and cheese to a hearty Azorean dish.

We may or may not be able to pick volunteers up from the airport. The options are taxi (about 35€), bus (best not to come too late or on a Sunday if you choose this option), car rental (3€ - 25€ p/day depending on the time of year) or hitchhiking (best if you're traveling light). It is about a 35 minute car ride from the airport to our home.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use