help exchange   Host 47429
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Greater Copenhagen- Lejre
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47429
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 3, 2018

UPDATE: We are available 4-30 September. The rest of the 2018 season is booked.
We open for bookings for the period 1 April - 30 September, in February 2019.


Hi everyone!

We are a small scale specialty organic Family farm situated just next to the village of Lejre (30 min by direct train to Copenhagen Main train station).

We are Johanne (mom, 44), Jesper (dad, 50), Ida (11), Lotte (9), and Ditlev (6 years).

We also have two employees, Ebbe (44), Csaba (40).

We have:
2000 broiler chickens,
2000 egg laying hens,
17 sheep (+ up to 25 lambs),
6 pigs (+ up to 30 piglets,)
3 cats, and 2 dogs (including a Lifestock Guardian Dogs).

We focus on small scale grass fed production, animal welfare, outstanding taste and direct sale to customers. Our main customers are gourmet restaurants in Copenhagen, as well as private local customers (visting our farm shop open Saturdays).

The Work: Is hard and manual. And sometimes dirty or boring. Tasks will be varied and depending on season and your qualifications. But always varied and rewarding!

Examples of tasks: Participate in daily feeding, mucking out stables, repairing fences, gardening, minor repair tasks.

Work is Monday - Friday 8.00 - 14.00. Including coffee and lunch breaks. Weekends are off.

Accomodation is simple - in a caravan. See Photos. It has a single and a double bed and is ideal for a couple or 2 (or 3) friends.

We have wifi.

Food: Breakfast is self service. We have coffee break and lunch together. We ususally have dinner together 1-2 times per week during the weekdays (Monday-Thursday), Friday-Sunday you have dinner on your own. We eat 100% organic and mostly vegetarian (helpers cannot expect to eat large amounts of meat every day). We can cater vegetarians and vegans.

Outside working hours, there are plenty of Things to do. We live in a historic and cultural area with museums, a Castle, plenty of riding/biking/walking trails. We have bikes. We live 1.5 km from Lejre Train station with direct train to Copenhagen (30 min ride by train) and Roskilde (10 mins). Furthermore, a local bus drives directly pass our house and directly to the train station.

We kindly ask all interested helpers to send us a message with your motivation for visiting our farm, and a decription of your relevant skills and experience. Helpers with special interest in food quality, organic farming, cooking and small scale farming is prefered (but not a requirement :-)).

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,
Johanne and family

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use