help exchange   Host 47556
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Montague
All Year: No
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47556
Region: Prince Edward Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 29, 2019

Hello!

I am a writer and cheesemonger (at the Farmers' Market), 36, living in picturesque rural Prince Edward Island.

I have a small acreage (around 12 acres total) and old farmhouse. The property is divided into several acres around the house, a woodlot of around 4 acres, and a large five-acre field in the back which my father is currently developing into a Canadian English landscape garden. I am focusing more on the edibles, but come at it from a gardener's perspective so aesthetics and ornamentals are a huge part of my plans, too!

There's not a lot currently on site, so I have a lot of projects in mind this year year, including:

- finishing the duck pond
- building chicken and duck houses
- building cold frames
- extensive vegetable, fruit, and cut flower gardens
- working in a greenhouse
- painting various buildings
- redoing the inside of the workshop to be a nice sitting area for helpers/guests
- working on a woodland path

That's along with the regular gardening and food preservation--there will be a lot of canning, drying, storing, and hopefully also some fermenting going on.

I live in a rural part of the island (35 minutes from the capital, Charlottetown, 15 minutes from nearest town, Montague). A vehicle of your own is very helpful, but lack of one is not insurmountable. I run the cheese stall at the Charlottetown Farmers' Market, which opens twice a week in the summer, and means you will get time in town at least twice a week (and possibly experience working at said market, if that is of interest). The Confederation Trail runs along the back of my property, excellent for biking and walking; you'll have use of a bike.

I have dogs, a cat, and ducks, and will be getting chickens once the facilities are in place. I am not vegetarian, but am amenable to hosting vegetarians. We will be taking most meals together. Bedroom is in the house (shared bathroom; one double bed, so if you're two friends, expect to share), but as the workshop becomes nicer that will be a private space for the helper to go to. Free wifi in the house.

I had a wonderful time as a helper in the UK a couple of years ago, and look at this as a cultural exchange as well as a work one. I have a lot of books on a range of subjects, enjoy board games, and speak enough French and Italian to muddle through a conversation. If you know either of those (or German, of which I only know a little), I'd love to practice!

LGBQT+ friendly.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use