help exchange   Host 47689
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Havelock
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 to 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47689
Region: Marlborough

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 9, 2020

We are in the outer Pelorus sounds, boat access only, 2 1/2 hours from Elaine bay(French pass road, turn off at Rai valley)
We eat a lot of seafood and locally caught wild game and try to grow our own veges(not very well this winter). There is limited phone coverage, and we use solar power. Love of the remote quiet life is essential. We are not fully organic as Wakatahuri has been and to a limited extent still is a boat building bay with a working slip way.
The permanent residents in the bay are:
Gavin (4th generation owner of the land), fisherman and boat builder, tabletennis player and the boss
Natalie, chief cook and bottle washer, gardener, hunter, butcher and worker organiser and vague cleaner
Ruby the dog, Polly the puppy, wild goat and cattle chaser, food hoover
Doris and Smurfette the girl sheep, Rowlock (girl lamb), Scupper, Pig and Sid(boy lambs).
chickens Gertrude, Lilac, Apricot, JC, Penny, Dotty and some new babies. Curious George the seagull
Small goat LillyPing

Who we are looking for:
People who are fit energetic and love the sea, and who can handle remoteness and our clutter. I prefer observant people, it just makes my job easier
Most of our work is fairly physical - Scrub cutting, fencing, digging, fire wood, tree planting and there are some lighter work like wood borer treating timber, weeding, painting and general maintenance work. My current projects are: using the digger to clear a hill slip! beach erosion repairs and gardening.

Sorry but at the moment we can not cater for vegetarians or other special dietary requirements.
We expect 4 hours work in return for a bed (double rooms in the comfy outside sleepout), 3 meals a day (breakfast, lunch, dinner, morning (if your up early enough) and afternoon tea),the odd glass of homebrew beer and the use of our recreational gear - sea kayaks, canoes, dingies, fishing gear. We have little blue penguins in the bay and great places to walk. Minimum stay needs to be at least 10 days as its a 5 hour round trip to Elaine bay. The Havelock mailboat on its Tuesday and Friday round is also a transport option http://themailboat.co.nz/ and is $50

reviews (12)
Helper: Marine and Ernst Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 13, 2020
We spend 10 days just before Christmas in the wakatahuri Bay world. It has be... view complete review

Helper: Marine and Pierre Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 5, 2019
We spent 2 weeks at Nathalie and Gavin house, and what an experience! We took... view complete review

Helper: Chris and Jenny Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 31, 2019
This is an amazing place with lots of history and beautiful scenery. The work... view complete review

Helper: Bertrand Santini Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 28, 2019
My stay with Natalie and Gavin was an absolutely amazing experience. I'm so g... view complete review

Helper: Dom Leonard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: May 21, 2019
Thanks to Natalie and Gavin for the 10 days at your place, I learned a lot an... view complete review

Helper: Maxime and Chloé Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 17, 2019
We stayed with Natalie and Gavin for two weeks and would have stay longer! Ou... view complete review

Helper: James and Cara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 16, 2019
Staying with Natalie and Gavin was definitely a unique experience, they were ... view complete review

Helper: Hélène Cariou Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 27, 2018
I spent two weeks at Natalie and Gavin's place, with 3 other friends. We were... view complete review

Helper: Milana Narinian Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: April 30, 2018
Our time here was just lovely. The surroundings are incredibly beautiful and... view complete review

Helper: Ian and Joel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ireland Date: December 25, 2017
We haven't stop telling people about this amazing experience. We stayed for ... view complete review

Helper: Elsa and Théau Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 13, 2017
We stayed 15 days here and what we can say it's that each day is a new discov... view complete review

Helper: Eve and Eliot Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 28, 2017
If you want to experiment what is really wild life, you definitively have to ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use