help exchange   Host 47853
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Tinalhas
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5 hectares
Persons: multiple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47853
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 19, 2020

Hello dear readers,

We are a young family in Castelo Branco, central Portugal. We have 2 daughters whom are 7 and 2 and our younger son is 4 months old at the moment. We came to Portugal because our dream is to live off grid, self sufficient, with nature and animals. By now we have build our own cob house, managed to get electricity going through solar panels and have a starting farm going. We have sheep, chickens, a dog and cats and would like to get some more poultry going! We are planting a food forest so we take care of a lot of baby trees at the moment and we have a garden.

Our children are being unschooled in some periods of time (when life is really busy for example) and otherwise me (Zo) really likes to do Waldorf inspired homeschooling with them. Our children are bright happy souls, that love people and are always curious to explore whats new. It is really important to us that people that want to join our project for a while realize that our children might see them as role models and inspiration!

Since our youngest son is born we started a journey back the health through the use of alternative methods and recently we have found out that our family is at least gluten an cow dairy intolerant but some of us are allergic. We are very new to this idea and are on a special diet. For our children it is not easy yet to ban bread out of their life so it is important for us that these products are not brought to our home. The journey back to health is incredibly interesting though and Im learning a lot about food fermentation and dehydrating as well as other alternative ways of preparing food.

Me, Zo, Im mostly concerned with household tasks, children, food preparation and animals. I love gardening too but unfortunately i dont get to that much lately. Im very passionate about wild herbs, health foods and child education.. But my absolute biggest passion is pregnancy and childbirth. Im studying hard to become a doula and maybe an alternative midwife at some point in my life and im at buying a neighboring land to set up a doula school here.

Steef, my partner, loves building mostly. Hes a passionate eco-builder! Right now hes an all rounder and joins in to do some of the cooking, household. Apart from that hes does a lot on the land.

Our dream in coming here is that this place would naturally grow to become an eco village. A place where all people have a land to live life the way they want to but we can also focus on helping each other the increase lifes quality. No need for endless talking in making decision together, no, simply making decisions for your own land but sharing for example seasonal parties, a lunch a week, a baking day, rides to town, just a nice day at the lake or whatever is needed. Since a few months we have a neighbor who shares our vision and a bigger family is slowly growing from this!

At this moment we could really appreciate help. There are a lot of things to do and for us it is important that people that come here enjoy their time and do what they like. We can use help with the household, kids, taking care of the land, the garden, animals and a bit of building here and there, so there are always a lot of tasks to choose from!
What we need right now is responsible people that are good at carrying out tasks by themselves and cleaning up after themselves. People that are happy to help a young busy family out so that there can be more peace for ourselves and more time to spend with our beloved young ones! An hour or 5 of help a day would be amazing, what we can offer is a nice place to be, your food (breakfast and dinner of your own making with what we supply) and friendly people!
Families are always amazing as the children seem to entertain each other amazingly and the adults get more done is this way too.. everybody happy!

If you feel like we might be a mach with your wants and wishes and your personality please let us know and we will write you back asap!

and yeah, maybe important, we have a caravan available with electricity, it aint a super luxurious retreat but its a nice quiet place.. if there multiple volunteers a tent would be needed. If you have your own van there is plenty of space to put it!

Love Fabula Rasa

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use