help exchange   Host 47895
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Captain Cook
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2 or couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47895
Region: Hawaii

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 9, 2020

My wife and I own and operate a Bed and Breakfast and we are also small-scale farmers. Our property is 5 acres (2 hectors) and we grow a variety of fruits on our 100% organic farm. We are primarily looking for help on the farm to do things such as pruning/trimming/weeding/mowing/weed-whacking/etc. We want to build a second chicken coop so anyone with carpentry skills would be welcomed. There is also light cleaning outside our home (raking leaves, rinsing snorkel equipment, sweeping, etc.). We also appreciate help with indoor cleaning projects.

We are located south of Captain Cook at 1500 ft. elevation. Below us is Honaunau Bay and Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park (Place of Refuge). We are at the end of a one-mile road mauka from the main highway. At the highway, there is a store, restaurant, and fruit stand all within close walking distance. A large grocery store is 5 miles away. There are a lot of HelpX/WOOFERS on the island and hitch-hiking is popular and safe. Within a few miles are beaches (Ho'okena) and popular snorkeling (2-Step/Honaunau Bay) areas. The Big Island is really a paradise for outdoor activities.

Unlike many host properties, we offer a separate and private studio apartment complete with a kitchen, bath, king-size bed, HDTV satellite, and high-speed WI-FI (150+ megabyte). Mobile phone reception is good.

My wife and I are almost always here on the property doing outside and inside work. Our 16-year old Dachshund recently passed away, but we have a sweet Siamese kitty named Kai'a. We live a very healthy lifestyle (no smoking or drugs), eat only organic foods, and we are personable and nice. We recycle, compost, have solar panels for hot water and electricity, utilize rainwater for drinking and household use, and are a green-leader in Tripadvisor. I speak only English, but my wife is fluent in both English and Russian, and she is conversational in Spanish.

Ideally, we are looking for 20 hours/week per person without supplying or preparing food for our helpers. We are happy to share fruits and eggs from our property when we have extra. The 20 hours a week can be done on any schedule that is best for you and doesn't have to be firmly set. We are open to negotiation about almost anything as long it is mutually beneficial.

Our preference is to host a couple or two friends with a minimum stay of one month. Our private studio apartment is very comfortable for two people. Please, non-smokers only (including marijuana), also no drug use or alcohol abuse is allowed; social drinking is fine.

We currently have help and don't anticipate needing any new helpers until late fall or early winter 2020.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use