help exchange   Host 47906
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Grande Prairie
All Year: April to October
Area (ha): 420 acers
Persons: 1 or 2 or family
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47906
Region: Alberta

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 22, 2020

My husband and I and our 5 children ranging from ages 5-17 operate a small farm with 50 cows 9 horses, cats, dogs, chickens and turkeys in the foothills of the rocky mountains. During the fall and winter we operate an outfitting business (check out our website). We are working on growing a large enough garden to sell a quantity of vegetables locally, as well as put away for our family. We milk our own cow and and enjoy our free range chickens that often surprise us with a flock of chicks. We enjoy getting out for a horseback ride as often as possible.
July is haying season and we put up 200 acres of hay.
We have a second house on our property that is used as our lodge during hunting season so we have plenty of space to accommodate comfortably. Our Wifi is free and decently fast. Cellular service is good here with most carriers.
We enjoy eating our locally harvested elk, moose and deer as well as our home grown pork and turkey. We can cater to allergies and food sensitivities as some of our children are wheat or egg sensitive.
We are looking to find someone that is interested in learning about farming or hunting in Canada, or sharing the knowledge you have, as we work together. The jobs are many as we have landscaping, fencing, gardening, building projects and animal husbandry projects happening. In the fall there would also be scouting and setting up blinds. We would strive to involve the helper in the kinds of projects he/she had skill or interest. We think the relaxed lifestyle that farming allows would be enjoyed by others as well, as they could participate in all the projects we are working on. In exchange for room and board, we would ask for 4 hours a day or 20 hours a week of work. The other time could be enjoyed on our property here or spent in adventures nearby. We are 1.5 hours from the Rocky Mountains (Two Lakes), where there is fishing and hiking. We are 40 minutes from Grande Prairie, a city with all the amenities one could wish for. The area is becoming known for an abundance of dinosaur fossils. Our horses could also be used if the person had experience.
We can pick up in Grande Prairie.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use