help exchange   Host 48029
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Carrick On Shannon
All Year: Mar-Nov
Area (ha): 0.4
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48029
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 22, 2019

Interest Keywords: Horticulture; Kitchen Garden; Landscape

Autumn 2019 - Genuinely need help!
Just suffered an injury and so I'm inviting an amazing person to help me with cutting and stacking firewood and also some end of season garden tidy up.

In return I can offer you a private bedroom and lounge, good food and great craic. If you like to be outside and tending plants and creatively working with landscapes then please contact me :)


Description
-------------
My home is a traditional Irish stone cottage sited on an acre in a peaceful area surrounded by fields and hedgerows that are filled with wonderful mature native trees. The hourly chimes of the nearby church can be heard while sitting in the garden.

The cottage itself is around 300 years old and full of history with a number of my neighbours having lived or even been born in this cottage. It has been renovated and extended to include central heating, a modern bathroom (with separate shower and bath) and good sized kitchen.

Outdoors the garden is varied and beautiful and really comes alive in spring and summer with vibrant tree colour and diverse native birdlife. I am a FETAC qualified horticulturist and have an extensive vegetable garden and polytunnel, so guests will not only be able to see and learn about food grown in the Irish climate, but also be able to eat fresh organically grown potatoes, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, sweet corn, salads, apples, berries and much more - all grown naturally without chemicals. 3 beautiful ducks roam the garden and guests are welcome to eat true free range eggs.

The photos below show the garden and the guest bedroom and sitting room. Please see this link for pictures of the garden in 2016:
http://tinyurl.com/h54plh4

More pics: http://tinyurl.com/hlwp8ac

NOTE: I prefer helpers who want to learn/share knowledge about horticulture, permaculture, natural building, forest gardening, nature connection, craft, or have an interest in the projects that I'm doing.


Accommodation
--------------
You'll have 3 rooms to yourself, your own living room and bedroom with it's own entrance room. There's plenty of space here. Kitchen and bathroom are shared, but there is room for you to make your own kitchen/food prep area if you want to.

Food
-------
I eat mostly from my what my garden seasonally provides, which means I eat fresh vegetables for almost all meals. I don't have or need a fridge. I rarely buy things like bread, milk, pasta, canned food, etc mainly because I find the garden provides all my needs but also because buying these products creates waste packaging. I ferment some vegetables and occasionally make bread, small cakes or probiotic yoghurt.

I would prefer helpers to eat from the garden, but you are welcome to buy for yourself anything that I don't have.

Location
----------
I live five miles from the vibrant tourist town of Carrick-On-Shannon which is on the Leitrim/Roscommon border. The town has many varied shops, cafes and excellent restaurants serving award winning contemporary Irish cuisine. It also has a library, arts/theatre centre, multiplex cinema and the sports/recreation centre.

Carrick-On-Shannon has a train station that links directly with Dublin and the coastal town of Sligo. Buses to Dublin and Sligo also pass through daily.


Help
-----
I mainly need help with garden maintenance. But I'd also like to do the following projects.

* Vegetable and garden maintenance, potting, tidying, watering.
* Cutting firewood

In exchange for help I am happy to share my home grown food, a bed and knowledge of vegetable gardening should you wish to learn about growing in a cool temperate climate.


About Me
---------
I moved to Ireland from the UK 5 years ago to start a kitchen garden, grow my own food and connect with other wellminded people. I'm 39 and passionate about woodlands, nature connection, soulcraft and dreamwork! I share my house with a cat and a family of sparrows. The garden is a playground for me and the birds.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use