help exchange   Host 48209
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1,5
Persons: 1
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 48209
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 29, 2019

As usual, we have more jobs than hands :-). We finished the kitchen in on of the vacation houses and are ready for take-off to build the tiny houses and two outdoor kitchens!

Also, if you are more interested in maintenance of the premises (garden work), you are more than welcome!

We are a Durch family of 4, who has lived in France since 1992 in an old property in the Poitou-Charentes. Jan (1947), Beer (1962), Charlotte (1995 - now in Paris) and Norah (2004). Both Jan and Beer work in their home office to prepare the teaching jobs. Beer just wrote a book about "Digital Hospitality" (in French). Besides our regular jobs, we are managing three self-catering accommodations and a small campground. Thus we alter office work with "down to earth"-work on the premises and on the buildings, that we are restoring forever, so it seems!

We are a bunch of laughing people who love to debate on a whole range of issues. We are used to receiving people (as tourist professionals but also privately) and to deal with issues of privacy/community and highly aware of cultural issues. We love cooking, eating and talking about food; this includes cooking for others and being cooked for :-).

We would like to host people who are interested in sharing our daily lives - in between cultures, in this lovely rural area - and can help us with the exciting and down-to-earth work of receiving people (cleaning, maintenance, showing around, answering the questions of guests), daily tasks, small building projects and/or working on the premises. Though outside high season, help might also include cleaning the gîtes and/or the campground installation.

There are plenty of different things to be done, enough to pick from, according to your competences and our needs-of-the-moment. Each time somebody comes to help, we figure out what she or he would like to do since the choices are multiple at our place!

Working hours are flexible. Our helper would have a bedroom and share the bathroom with the family. If available, he/she can stay in the caravan and enjoy more privacy!
He/she can use Internet, laundry facilities etcetera. We can (and are used to) accommodate to diet issues. Languages spoken at home are Dutch, French and English.

The property is situated in the heart of the Poitou-Charentes, on the outskirts of the village, an hour's drive from the Atlantic coast. Though situated in a rural area, with no entertainment in the immediate environment, it is an hours drive to Poitiers, the Futuroscope and Cognac, and centrally located to visit both small villages and cities as well as visit the more visible points of interest. Nights are deliciously quiet and if you are lucky, the skies are just breathtaking. In your free time, you can explore the environments, (walking and biking are great things to do here!), play the piano, do nothing and enjoy just being, or read books from one of our three libraries (English, French, Dutch). And in summer, there is the swimming pool!

Venez nous aider avec la construction de deux tiny houses, une extension d'une structure existante ou deux cuisines extérieures !
Ou alors, si les travaux du terrain vous séduisent davantage : nous avons de ça à faire aussi :-).

Cette famille néerlandaise installée en France, dans une ancienne métairie en Poitou-Charentes (Nouvelle Aquitaine) depuis 1992/2003 consiste de Jan (1947), Beer (1962), Charlotte 1995 (qui vit à Paris) et Norah (2004). Nous aimons la cuisine (beaucoup), rire (à la folie), débattre (avec passion, observer et interpréter (par exemple, les différences culturelles) et partager nos espaces avec d'autres.

Notre fille cadette habite encore chez nous. Nous partageons notre temps entre le travail de formations, accompagnement et coaching des équipes (Jan) et en matière numérique (Beer) d'un côté et les trois gîtes et une petite activité de camping rural de l'autre côté. Beer vient de publier un livre (2018), qui s'appelle "Bienvenue à l'Hospitalité digitale - le nouveau prisme du marketing en ligne".
Nous accueillons principalement des néerlandophones en haute saison (beaucoup). Le reste de l'année, il y a les pèlerins et les hôtes dans les gîtes français et étrangers.

Nous serions heureux de partager notre aventure avec un ou plusieurs helpers qui pourraient nous aider avec...
- jardinage, petits et grands travaux sur le terrain
- bricolage et plus grands travaux (par exemple, un mur sèche à stabiliser)
- les tâches ménagères courantes
suivant les profils et envies des uns et autres.

Au printemps, notre helper peut choisir de vivre dans la caravane aménagée, en été, il ou elle aura une chambre dans la maison et partagera la salle des bains avec nous. Si disponible, il/elle peut aussi profiter de la caravane aménagée pour avoir plus de privacy ! Il ou elle aura une connexion Internet, peut évidemment ! utiliser tous les espaces communs, jouer au piano et lire des livres de nos trois bibliothèques.

Pour décompresser, il ou elle peut relaxer autour de la piscine, faire des balades à pied ou à vélo dans les environs, visiter les petits villages et villes du sud Deux-Sèvres ou encore profiter de la proximité de La Rochelle et la côte Atlantique ou du Marais Poitevin, du Futuroscope et de Poitiers ou d'autres villes et le 'grand' et 'petit' patrimoine qui est si abondamment présent dans cette région.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use