help exchange   Host 48398
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Hobart
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 50
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48398
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2019

WELCOME TO TASSIE!!!

Available: now
We do prefer to host couples, but if your funny or skilled try your luck.

We have a 50 acre property in Snug which is 30 minutes south of Hobart along the coast.
We have 3 children (7,11,12) and are busy raising them. Be warned they will kick your ass at "connect 4" and" "uno"
I am a podiatrist and work in Kingston, and my wife is a silversmith who works from her studio at home.
On the property we have sheep, chickens and bees and lots of native wildlife (including our hand reared wallaby Ruby).
The property is within walking distance to the beach, shops, local cafe, bus stop and the snug river.
We have a small veggie garden at the minute. We farm our own meat so its always available for the evening meal if your not on a vegetarian diet.
At the minute on the farm we are doing a lot of tree planting, earth moving, road building, fencing, firewood collecting and building. Mel always needs help in the silver studio. There are always projects on the go and we welcome the help!
The main house is pretty small but you will have your own seperate little cottage to sleep in (a short walk from the main house). Plumbing has not been finished on the hut, so showers etc are at the main house. You are more than welcome to have meals with us and be social in the house as there always seems to be a bottle of wine open and we love company.
If you consider yourself trustworthy, creative, easy going and can work unsupervised then you are ideal. As we both work, tasks are usually explained, but we need you to be able to work safely unsupervised.
Of value would be people who can do any of the following, weld, renovate or build, use a shovel, can cook or help around the house, or help out in the jewellery studio.
We do enjoy the company, so if your antisocial or afraid of getting your hands dirty then you are probably not an ideal fit.

Currently need help with: planting and weeding in the veggie garden, puting solar power in the hut, Painting a trailer, killing some sheep, tractor maintenance, collecting the last of the fire wood, jewellery making.

Safe travels!
Dan, Mel (and the kids)

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use