help exchange   Host 4846
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Orte (Vt)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4846
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 5, 2015

We live in a country house (35 min from Rome by train) in Orte with some animals (goats, chicken, dogs and cats), vegetable garden, olive trees, raspberries... I am a mother of 4 children( now adults), and I work with day and night shifts as a doctor in the surrounding towns.

We need help for the care of the vegetable garden (green house), animals, cleaning the wood and making new fences as well as help around the house (preparing meals when necessary, setting the table, clearing dishes etc).

We make our own bread and marmalades, we eat biological (organic)food and now we are real vegetarian. We try to recycle as much as possible and step into the cycle of nature.

We also have a "bed and breakfast" where we receive clients and when I am working outside at night we need help welcoming them, serving breakfast in the morning and sometimes cleaning/preparing the rooms, putting the sheets in the washmachine etc. I also always need someone to help me with my computer! (Macintosh).

I need an active and creative presence, someone who is dependable (for when I am not around) and able to work on his/her own initiative. I welcome creative ideas... and encourage you to spend time visiting all around!

If you have a driving license, can drive a 5-speed and you are a careful and considerate driver (in rough road conditions), you can use the car (not a 4x4). Please be aware that we are out of the centre with no public transport service, so when possible I can drive you to the station but this depends on my work schedule.

The house is often busy with B&B guests as well as my sons and other relatives coming home, so accommodation is likely to be in the "summer house" (which has 6 beds, a toilet/shower and a kitchen with fireplace) or in a small ground-floor room at the back of the house, with its own private toilet and separate entrance.

My passion is " domestic economy" the real sense of recycling. Everything is still useful - we just need to change our mindset to see the possibilities...

I believe that human relations are interaction -
sometimes there is no affinity, sometimes plenty of sympathy! It is important trying to get inside the world of the host...not only as an external observer! There are some very negative reviews - as well as very good ones: why? I have an immediate good connection with people who feel grateful for what they have around them and have a polite manner and a genuine interest in sharing experiences. I have noticed that those who left a bad feedback were people expecting first and foremost to enjoy a free holiday without a real exchange (while those who had a great experience also had beautiful holidays!). If I feel there is no affinity I suggest finding an alternative solution (with plenty of time to do so), to avoid a deterioration of the situation/relationship.

Helping is a difficult thing as what one has to offer may not necessarily be what the other person needs...

One question that I would like every person to answer is to tell me what your motivation is for working in the Help Exchange program and why you want to come to Orte. I am looking for helpers who are wanting to come into a different world, and who want to make a connection with my family and try to be a part of it.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use