help exchange   Host 4860
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Odiaxere
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4860
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 25, 2019

“The whole is more than the sum of its parts”
We are relaxed open-minded and see life as an ongoing learning experience.
Our project was born from the idea that ‘You have to be the change that you want to see in the world’ and our approach is professional, based on respect, trust and integrity. Our main source of income has been sustainable rural tourism. We have several gardens and a diversity of flowering plants to attract bees and butterflies all year round. There are animals like chickens, dogs and cats and two horses. In Winter we host artists-in-residence, small scale workshops and retreats. We would like to share this place, for a shorter or longer period, with people who associate with our vision that a better world starts with ourselves. We are looking for independent volunteers that are responsible in all aspects (work, cleanliness, attention for surroundings, environment, other people etc.).
We like to have a good time and appreciate a good meal and a glass of wine/beer, but we don’t ‘do’ drugs and if you can’t do without, this is not the place for you.

Work
At this moment we are looking for people who have experience in and a skills like gardening , agriculture (organic) carpentry, painting etc.. We want to extend our food gardens and we are restoring an old gypsy wagon. After restoring it, it has to be installed with a veranda around, outdoor kitchen, compost toilet etc. Furthermore, volunteer work can include help with guests, help in the house, gardening, painting, feeding the animals, general maintenance, pruning, sowing etc.. We have an fully equipped workshop available (wood, iron, mechanics, marble etc..) Your actual work will depend on your experience, skills and the need of the moment.

We opt for a minimum stay of 3 weeks. If things work out from both sides, we prefer a long term stay. On a lovely part of the property you can stay in a caravan and/or camper van.
We work 4 days from Monday to Thursday from 9h00-17h00, with one hour lunch break (flexible working hours in summer, depending on the temperature).
We provide food for the whole week and have lunch together on Mondays and dinner on Thursdays.

reviews (2)
Helper: Bart and Marit Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: March 1, 2014
We stayed at Inge and Theo's place for 3 weeks. We were welcomed in a clean,... view complete review

Helper: Erik Hõbe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Estonia Date: March 6, 2012
I stayed with Theo & Inge for 4 weeks and I enjoyed the experience vastly. I ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use