help exchange   Host 48795
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Brookings
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1 acre
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48795
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 26, 2018

We have a lovely one acre garden including an aspen grove, 50` pond, orchard, chicken area backed up by heavy forested area.

We are close to the wilderness area and 4 miles inland from the Wild River`s Coast of Oregon. Our area is known as the "banana belt" where we can expect warmer weather year round. It can be as extreme as 40 degrees difference between us and Crescent City, CA, which is just 25 miles South of us.

Our home is 4 miles up the Winchuck River making us fog free 90 per cent of the time. Winter can bring 100 inches of rain, so be prepared for wet hiking.

I am known as a good cook. We have a guest room with a bathroom that two people could use. Also other sleeping arrangements could be made if the two could not sleep in the same room. Our largest dog, Wilson, thinks the guest room belongs to him, but when guest come, we change out the bedding and he simply finds a couch or our room to sleep in. (see image of Wilson on the bed) We have a new queen sized bed in the guest room.


We would expect 5 hours per day (or upon agreed time frame) of heavy garden work or home maintenance for the exchange. My husband and I are now considered old and find hacking and hauling more difficult. We need mostly pruning and weeding with maybe some upkeep on the buildings. It is nothing that we haven`t done ourselves for years.

We find that we handle guest for about two weeks at the max. After that, we get tired of company and need to re-coup with silence and nothing to do before more come our way. We want you to consider that when you plan to visit. We like the help, but don`t need someone moving in on any long-term basis. We are open to re-evaluating time spent as needed since we enjoyed our last guest who stayed 3 months!

We are a cannabis friendly home living in a marijuana legal State.

Smoking outside is preferred but not always necessary. We are not sensitive to cannabis smoke. Phone use is permitted (cell phones often do not work up river where we live) We have Wi-Fi so phones can be used that way. Our land line can be used.

All types of food available including vegetarian
We have 2 dogs and 2 cats. One dog would be acceptable if pet friendly.

We live approximately 7 miles to the nearest shopping/town; which is Brookings, OR
We live in a tourist destination area with ocean and river fishing, hiking, windsurfing, surfing and wildlife viewing.

We have two recreational kayaks that could be used; although it is safer if two people go together than chance a tip over in a bad situation.

I find we are not good task masters, so we would hope our guest can be self directed once a job is asked of them. We prefer to not have guest who constantly need supervision or laze about when not being observed. We might be cannabis friendly, but we are not a haven for"stoners", who ingest too much finding themselves "couch locked". I understand that we are new and exciting like a candy store for those not use to legalization of cannabis, but work still needs to be completed. Sadly, we have learned that some seemingly cannot find restraints that are needed when visiting our home. Maturity will be expected. I believe I have an obligation to be honest in reviews and you wouldn`t want me to be leaving a negative comment that may cost you other places to land. I consider myself a "curandera" making all types of cannabis medicine. I would love to teach others to do the same. Everyone loves my infused Chocolate Salty Balls.



reviews (9)
Helper: Lisa Becher Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: June 22, 2019
Karen and Jim are absolutely wonderful hosts! Sadly, I only stayed 6 days wit... view complete review

Helper: Yann Cohen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Israel Date: February 21, 2019
How can I even start to describe Karen and Jim's household? Karen is a superw... view complete review

Helper: Sabrina and Cristian Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Argentina Date: November 25, 2018
How to describe our first experience in Helpx, when it goes beyond the excell... view complete review

Helper: Justin/ Barbie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 10, 2018
Karen and jim are AMAZING. PERIOD. We stayed only a few days as the timing ca... view complete review

Helper: Mia and Christian Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: May 9, 2017
We loved our experience with Karen and Jim at their lovely home! Both were wa... view complete review

Helper: Kelby Archer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 28, 2017
Jim and Karen are delightful, generous people! My stay with them ended up bei... view complete review

Helper: Sue and Joel and Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: December 24, 2016
Karen and Jim (and 4 lovely doggies) are such great hosts! They looked after ... view complete review

Helper: Caitlin Hunter Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 26, 2016
I spent two weeks at Jim and Karen's place and it was fantastic. They are inc... view complete review

Helper: Eva and Tom Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: New Zealand Date: July 3, 2016
It was an absolute pleasure to stay with Karen and Jim, our favourite adopt... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use