help exchange   Host 48796
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Granada
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48796
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 10, 2019

Hello future helpers,

My name is Miguel and I've been on and off here in sunny El Golco, a little village in the National Nature Reserve Sierra Nevada for the past 30 years. I live on my own here but look after youths from Germany ( I am German myself) at times in which case there is a daily routine in place to create a stable environment for the teenager.
We start our days at 8 am, have breakfast, do some housework or other tasks around the property such as watering the plants, general gardening, feeding the chicken, preparing the meals, wood splitting, woodwork, painting, cleaning up after meals. There is time for some leisure like walking, cycling or relaxing in the quiet.
You may be able to help with homework/schooling with the teenager, if you wish and as required.
Please bear in mind that the teenager I am caring for comes from a difficult background and will need at times my full attention and in a crisis the above mentioned rhythm will change from one day to the next. It very much depends on the teenager and his needs, which will take priority.
If there is no teenager in the house living with me, I work as a cabinet maker in my workshop ( see website) near the house, where you could help out, if you are inclined. Also at times I work for an organization in Granada where you could help out, too,again working with teenagers. Please check out their website: www.escuelasolidad.org
Computer/web skills would be a bonus as I could do with some help, especially with my online shop and website.
I speak Spanish and German, but can converse in French and English, as well.
If you are arriving from abroad, the nearest airports are Granada, Almeria and Malaga.
There may be the possibility for me to pick you up since I am regularly (about once a month) traveling to Granada.
Otherwise enjoy the scenic bus ride through the Sierra Nevada for 10 from Granada to Mecina Bombaron from where I will collect you.
My diet is wholesome and healthy with fresh eggs and fish from the local market but I eat no meat.
If you can't live without meat, do not despair! There is a local butcher where you can purchase fresh meat and you are more than welcome to use my kitchen to prepare it.
I can't cater for special dietary requirements per se, but if you can look after your own meals, ingredients provided within reason, than you are most welcome to join me/us.
Smoking outside only, please.
The sea is 45 minutes away by car and the nearest village with shop/bakery and pub is 25 minutes away on foot. Also internet access is available here at the village hall during opening hours.
There will be ample opportunity to practise your Spanish ( or German if you wish) and time to explore this beautiful part of Andalucia.
There is very limited internet available at the house, but checking emails via hot spot from my phone can be arranged.
You will have your own cozy room in the house, all other areas such as bathroom, kitchen, common rooms and terrace are shared.
This is a hidden gem for hikers as there are lots of ancient tracks running through the mountains that beg to be explored.
Due to my various enterprises and changing schedule a somewhat mature volunteer would get the most out of this experience.
Ideally you are able to use your own initiative as you may have to work unsupervised at times and show some flexibility with the tasks that need doing.
Please get in touch ( ideally in Spanish or German) if you would like to join sharing this creative and inspiring space for a while, describing what you would like to get out of this experience and when you would like to come and we take it from there.
The minimum stay is 2 weeks to give us both the time to get into the swing of things but longer stays are very welcome.
Looking forward to hearing from you,
Miguel

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use