help exchange   Host 48815
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 48815
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 20, 2019

We are looking for a helper or helpers to assist at home and on various projects involving painting that we are working on. Mainly completing the 2nd coat of paint on the outside of the house. Also in the garden such as planting veggies, weeding, painting outbuildings, as well as log splitting and stacking.

We will provide good quality tools/materials so the jobs are as straightforward as possible! Single people or couples are welcome. You will work on your own most / some days. This would suit an independent HelpXer.

Dates available --- From February 2020 ---

We would like short stays of maybe 2 weeks agreed to initially and would expect to need up to 25 hours work per week morning and afternoon (not after 5pm) with at least two full days off per week and all evenings. We are happy for the work to be done in condensed hours and for you to have more days off (three a week). We can be flexible with hours and days of work depending on your plans eg you have a concert in London on Wednesday so you can work on Saturday instead. We would like you to do your own thing some days if possible so we can have some private family time please.

Accommodation in a comfortable double room including wardrobe and some drawer space with own/shared bathroom. You would also be welcome to camp if you would prefer as we have an acre of land and woodlands. (Only in the warmer months: **We can lend a number of tents both 4 and 2 Man options. You will need to bring some waterproofs.**)

We would share cooking and some household chores (as we already have a cleaner) and can cater for a Gluten or Lactose Free diet. Vegetarians and Vegans are welcome but will have to cater for themselves sometimes. We all eat together mostly, food is plentiful and tasty and we ask that HelpXers pitch in and help with prep and tidying up. If you can cook we'd love you to cook your favourite recipes for us this has worked so well in the past. We are a non smoking household. You can access our wifi network with your own phone or laptop and use our washing machine and rotary dryer. There is also use of the heated swimming pool in warmer months (from May - September) and help with English Language.

The nearest town is Ashford, Kent, which is the garden of England and only 38 mins by train from London. Ashford which can be travelled to via the bus has an outlet centre for designer goods as well as most major shops and activities such as cinema / bowling. The nearest City is Canterbury which is 20 mins drive by car. Here there is a stunning cathedral and historical buildings. Also again a wealth of shops and experiences such as cinemas.

In the local village we have a pub, farm shop, tea room, health and fitness studio, and a post office also; we have a giant field right outside the house for walks and runs. There is also a gliding club. We have bicycles, maps and local tourist information available. We are located in a fairly quiet, pretty village which is an ideal starting place for walking and cycling in Kent. The next village has a larger selection of shops and tea rooms etc.

We can collect you from Dover Port, or Ashford International train station or coach / bus station. There are good train and bus links from Gatwick Airport and London. Look forward to hearing from you, Helen & Chris.

We have two children aged 14 and 11 therefore helpers need to be mindful to this. Our children when they are not at school will be around and fairly nosily, so it is important that helpers are comfortable with children being around and can behave suitably.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use