help exchange   Host 48852
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Meadview
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3 - 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48852
Region: Southwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 5, 2020

4/5/20 update:
It looks like we are booked until the travel restrictions are lifted. Already have two people here and am expecting 3 more and I will update if I have any noshows or departures.

From mid May to mid September it is too hot for most people, with temps regularly over 100 F (40 C). I've had several long term visitors in summer who did well, but they were AZ natives or Europeans and into off grid living with no cooling except USB fans, wet towels, etc.

Please contact me with any questions and stay safe and healthy!

Christine
-----------------------------------------------------------

*** I expect my helpers to care about the environment and sustainability and I provide only GMO FREE and mostly organic food.

*** I'm extremely interested in food and herbs as medicine, making salves, etc. I quit sugar in 2018 (use erythritol) and I am mostly vegetarian (NOT strict Keto, but similar), but I eat high quality organic meat / fish once a week or so.

*** BIG plus: You are able to research online and take notes. This is NOT a factory farm or conventional construction and research is some of our most time consuming and important work. I'd love to grow mushrooms!

*** HUGE plus: You like to ferment and cook or want to learn how to cook from scratch. We all know how to open cans, cooking real food is very time consuming, especially when cooking for several people.

I try to get to Lake Mead or the Colorado river at least once a week, take the kayak out and have fun. There's fantastic hiking around here and I like to look for gold or pretty yard rocks and you can explore the area.

--------------------------------------------------------------

I run a 2 acre off grid and water haul permaculture farm in the high desert (60 miles from Kingman and 100 miles from Las Vegas) and Iíve been growing veggies, salad, berries, medicinals and in 2016 planted 25 fruit trees and numerous pomegranates.

Iíve learned the hard way that itís impossible to make a living selling organic food in rural areas where most people choose to buy their ďfoodĒ at a Family Dollar. Itís very sad, but thatís how it is. And itís no reason to not grow lots of food, but I had to make some adjustments.

Iím looking into starting a tiny house community and will grow food for visitors and attendees of various workshops and activities such as permaculture, growing food in the desert, gravity irrigation, building with adobe, off grid living, making medicinal salves, fermenting, gold prospecting, native plant tours, kayaking on Lake Mead, etc.

In 2017, after we recovered from a horrible winter, we started on the living room walls (adobe) and temporarily set two windows, but then I had several no-shows and we didn't get much done. In spring 2018 we upgraded the solar system, finished the walapini, built the winter greenhouse and finally fenced the whole property. We got so much done! Unfortunately we had another horrible winter and and several no-shows in 2019, along with practically no spring. Hoping for a great 2020 -- so far it's been good!

The chicken coop could use a finish coat and hopefully Iíll have an artist visiting for ďbeautificationĒ and we still need to fence the coop before we can get chickens.

The plants in the orchard/garden and the many trees and shrubs throughout the property need larger water wells and more mulch Ė theyíve been growing like crazy!

I also grow in hydroponic grow tubs without pumps or lights. Half the year itís too hot to grow salad outside and I'm on a quest to find a way for the many old people around here to grow salad and herbs EASILY, with the tubs on a table and automatic gravity watering. I love the salad so much, but it's still too hot in the walapini in summer and I'm hoping we can get solar fans and maybe a misting system going while it's so hot. Most of the year we have way more salad than we can eat.

So many projects and so little time!

Iím looking for 25 hours/week (20 hours in summer) and for the most part you can pick one or more projects that interest you and you can also schedule your work so you can go sightseeing for a few days or go on day trips. I try to get to the Colorado, Lake Mead, kayaking or sightseeing at least once a week.

Thereís also occasional outside paid work for helpers who have been here for several weeks and do a good job.

I might be able to pick you up in Kingman or Las Vegas. We have two campers without utilities (one has limited electric) and you could also stay in a tent or in the adobe meditation building for wind / sun protection.

Iím looking for a minimum one month stay, but I make exceptions in cases of no-shows, so please contact me if youíre looking to visit ďnowĒ or within a week or so. I'm also open to long-term stays and possibly permanent residents / co-owners.

Please contact me for more info!

RULES

1. No tobacco smoking or chewing. Touch a tomato or other nightshade plant and it may die (tobacco virus). And who wants to watch people commit suicide? We're about HEALTH here :)

2. Do NOT use any power tools unless we showed you how to use them.

3. ALWAYS wear protective goggles or sun glasses when using power tools or a pick and it's generally a good idea to wear glasses as we frequently get wind gusts and we've had people walk into yuccas and Joshua trees -- you only have two eyes!

4. We provide Dr. Bronner and other ""good"" soaps & shampoos because all our shower water goes to water trees. Also, since we have limited electric, please don't use blow dryers and other gadgets using a lot of electricity.

5. Do NOT go on the camper roofs! We now got a major leak after several WWOOFers decided to go on the roof.

6. Please ASK when you're not sure how to do something or what to do.

7. My two dogs are very friendly, but had little exposure to cats. It is also very dangerous to leave cats and small dogs outside because coyotes, hawks and owls would love to have them for lunch or dinner. If you bring a pet, it should be fixed (be responsible, so many pets are killed in shelters!)

Host Type:
Garden, Homestead, Orchard, Permaculture, Vegan friendly, Vegetables

Organic/biological methods used on my property:

I'm fanatical when it comes to poisons, don't even use the "organic" OMRI listed pesticides anymore. I also try to keep GMO products off the property since we don't have sewer service magically carrying away the toxins to some sewage processing plant.

Methodologies:
Biological pest control, Composting, Conservation, Ecological farming, Green construction, Mulching, Permaculture, Regenerative, Renewable energy, Vermiculture, Without chemicals or pesticides

Animals: Dogs

reviews (7)
Helper: Lila Osborne-Heard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 21, 2019
Staying on Christineís farm was a great experience of living off grid in the ... view complete review

Helper: Vladislav Polyanskiy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: June 7, 2018
my dear Cristin, Thank you! I've stayed with you for 1 week. It was awesome e... view complete review

Helper: Grayson Hunter Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: February 1, 2018
Christineís homestead was my first HelpX location, and I had an incredible, l... view complete review

Helper: Emmanuelle Blanchard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 27, 2017
Christine is a great host who does everything for you to feel good and welcom... view complete review

Helper: Vivien Rippe Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: March 23, 2017
Christine, I miss you! It was a wonderful experience on her high desert p... view complete review

Helper: Ivan Galkin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Estonia Date: November 30, 2016
Christine and her two beautiful dogs became my family, when I spent a week on... view complete review

Helper: Eindrew Jhon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 16, 2016
I don't know what to say except, I'm much appreciated to have had the opportu... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use