help exchange   Host 48954
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Stange
All Year: May to October
Area (ha): 1.8 (18,000 square meter)
Persons: Couple or 2 friends
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 48954
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 4, 2019

**The main work this season is firewood. This involves carrying the chopped up logs out of the forest to a trailer then splitting the logs using an axe or electric log splitter then stacking the split wood to dry. This is a psychically demanding job so you have to be fit enough for the task and not afraid of a hard days work. We can combine this with other work however firewood will be the priority**

We live in an old log house next to a small lake deep in the forest. It is a small holding for 3 generations of a family from Norway/France and England. There is a private lake, log cabin (rented out on Airbnb), 2 barns and many out buildings on the land.

We are a married couple with 3 small children so we are looking for people that work well in a family environment. We have 2 cats, pigs (seasonal), 2 goats and ducks with moose, deer, beaver, foxes, badgers etc living in the forest and bird life on the lake.

We are looking for a couple or 2 friends together. The work will involve jobs in and around the house and grounds.
* Feeding and cleaning out the animals
* Vegetable garden, cutting grass, weeding
* Picking potatoes and carrots
* Painting
* Collecting, splitting and stacking firewood
* Maintenance of fences
* Picking berries in the forest
* Maintenance of gravel road
* Housework, cleaning windows, washing up after meals, setting the table before meals and helping out with everyday jobs. Also cleaning & preparing the cabin when we have guests from Airbnb.

We will also need people in late summer/autumn to help with harvest work and preparations for winter.
* Collecting and burning leaves\garden waste
* Digging up vegetables
* Cleaning the barn and bringing in the animals
* Butcher and packing meat
* Cutting back bushes and tidying up outside area

It is essential that you are the type of person that is hard working, self motivated, doesn`t mind getting your hands dirty and enjoys being out in the nature. If you can`t live without internet, TV and home comforts then you shouldn`t apply. Those who like to live the country life, camping, and the outdoors will be suitable to apply.

This is a place where the work can be physical but varied and combined with leisure activities in a peaceful natural environment.

In return we will provide food and accommodation during your stay and you will have use of bicycles, fishing rods etc. Working hours and days are fair and flexible. We expect 6-8 hours per day depending on the work.

We encourage our helpers to explore the forest and lakes nearby in their free time. There is a hunters cabin out in the forest where you can stay overnight.

There are many opportunities for hiking in the forest. Swimming, rowing and fishing on the lake. Berry and mushroom picking late summer/autumn. It is also possible to visit an old paper factory museum which is close to the farm where Edvard Munch grew up and a small motor museum. Possibility of day trip to Lillehammer or Hamar.

We are a 1 hour train ride or drive from Oslo Gardermoen airport and we can arrange pickup from our local train station (Stange) or bus station (Romedal). Please write the word «Moose» at the start of your first message to us.
Hamar is the capital of the region we live in and it`s a 25 minute drive from our house. We are a little remote but that`s how we like it.

Helpers accommodation is in the bryggehus of our barn that we have converted for guests. It is small & basic but charming & cosy. It has 2 beds, table & stools. A large cast iron oven, window facing the lake, kettle, coolbox, heater plus dart board, games & maps/tourist info. Shower is located in the main house.

***Please note we don’t take helpers during the winter months November to May. There can be mosquitoes in the summer evenings here and we only have outdoor compost toilets. Unfortunately we can`t cater for vegan diets. If you don`t get a reply from us this means that we don`t have availability but we thank you for your interest***

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use