help exchange   Host 48995
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


North Canterbury
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 240
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 48995
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2019

07/07/2019:
We will be heading into our busiest time of the year at the beginning of August! That is LAMBING! We would love to host a volunteer to help me with feeding lambs. There will most likely also be a little bit of helping out with chores around the house, feeding the chickens etc. We are looking for someone who is capable, reliable, can use initiative, work independently when required and most of all fun!

We have a 600 acre farm of flat to rolling contour. We farm sheep and sometimes run a few cattle too. We also grow our own winter feed crops and some cereal crops too. We recently built our family home and now have a guest room, with a queen sized bed, ready for a WOOFER to move in. We have WIFI and a spare car.

We have just got through out busiest time on the farm - Lambing. This means it is time for weighing lambs to get them away on the truck We are looking for a female/or a couple to come and help us out. Jobs will include working in the yards, grubbing out weeds, general farm work, gardening, some household chores and possibly some child minding .Experience not necessary but a willingness to work outdoors, and a positive outgoing attitude is a must!

For now we are looking for 1 person or a couple.
Preferred minimum stay
One week
Preferred length of stay
1-2 weeks

Accommodation

You will be staying in the guest room in our family home, with your own queen sized bed. You will share a bathroom with the children and we can offer free WIFI along with very comfortable living.

Property size

600 acres on main farm and 185 acres on supplementary farm.
You will bee expected to work 6 hrs per day, five days per week. We would be happy for you to consolidate your hours to get full days off.

We eat a 'normal' varied diet. We grow our own meat and some vegetables too. We cannot cater for special diets or fussy eaters.

We are interested in hosting someone from afar and learning lots about other cultures too. We realise that you need to stay in touch with family and friends,however there is plenty of time to keep in touch, so we don't want someone who has their phone attached to their hand constantly.

reviews (3)
Helper: Cécile Valadier Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 20, 2017
Bart and Lisa's farm was my first HelpX experience when I arrived in New Zeal... view complete review

Helper: Isi Ronsoehr Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 1, 2016
I spent about six weeks with my lovely Barton family and missed them incredib... view complete review

Helper: Patrick and Yuka Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Austria Date: July 14, 2016
We stayed with the Bartons for more than 2 weeks and really enjoyed it. Bart ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use