help exchange   Host 49543
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Fremantle
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49543
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2020

We have a position from August 3rd until August 14th. There is then a spot from August 19th.

A bit about our home first.

Our home is partly an urban community, where we have converted one house into five self-contained living units.
Our home is partly an urban farm with chickens, goats, compost and fruit trees, plus a large shared veggie patch.
Our home is partly a demonstration sustainable house, with cutting edge energy systems, water collection and dispersal systems and innovative passive solar design.
Our home is partly an educational opportunity and community hub, with regular tours, workshops, films and other community events.

Why not come and stay with us?

Your hosts Shani and Tim will be happy to meet you. (We dont have any children.) We are especially willing to welcome you if you are interested in all things sustainable. Tim does all the building, landscaping and art work around the place, as well as playing music. Shani is in charge of the gardens and animals. They also run sustainable education and sand sculpture businesses.

Your accommodation will be inside the main house in a large loft bedroom. This bedroom has a steep ladder/ staircase to it so you should feel comfy with ladders and heights. You have your own kitchen and meals area, shared only occasionally by other community groups. You have your own bathroom in a shared laundry area. Food is NOT provided. There is no heating or cooling besides the passive solar measures.

You will be expected to make your own meals and keep your areas clean and tidy. Two and a half hours work is required each day but this does depend on the type of work you are doing. We prefer people to be up in the morning with us so we can work with you in the garden (usually 7ish but this can be earlier on hot days) but the time of day that you work is a little bit flexible and you could work more one day if you need a day free etc. Most of the time you will be working independently. This position will not suit someone who is wanting to work full time off site.

We do have a bee hive on site but they are generally very passive.

Skills we need include basic building jobs (laying bricks, rendering, painting, basic carpentry), gardening work, cleaning and cooking. Musicians and videographers are especially welcome. We can teach you how to milk a goat if you are interested. Couples are preferred. Definitely no smokers (even off site is not allowed)

Our home is a 30 minute stroll into Fremantle, and 15 minutes to the beach. There are shops 5 minutes walk away.Public transport is pretty good with buses and trains nearby. If you want to ride a bike we can usually provide one for you.

If you have any questions just get in touch.

Looking forward to meeting you!

reviews (10)
Helper: Arthur and Manon Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 19, 2019
We stayed 3 weeks with Shani and Tim... and it was awesome ! They are such... view complete review

Helper: Johan and Ariane Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 13, 2019
We stayed two months at Tim&Shani’s house and helped them for various tasks.... view complete review

Helper: Hilde Juergens Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: February 11, 2019
I spend only 10 days in this amazing place due to other commitments. It's so... view complete review

Helper: Sophie and Baptiste Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 18, 2018
We spent an amazing time with Shani & Tim and we wish you could meet them. We... view complete review

Helper: Fanny and Chris Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 16, 2017
Shani and Tim are a charming couple. They make you feel really confortable in... view complete review

Helper: Jérémie and Pauline Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 26, 2017
We spent 3 great weeks in shani and tims unique home. During our stay in ecob... view complete review

Helper: Caroline and Charlotte Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 21, 2017
Shani and Tim are very good hosts and interesting people. They are both very ... view complete review

Helper: Judith elgie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: January 22, 2017
I stayed at ecoburbia for nearly 2 weeks and found it such a good experience.... view complete review

Helper: Virginie and Jérémy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 21, 2016
We spent one amazing week with Shani and Tim at Ecoburbia! They're both lo... view complete review

Helper: Nicolas Nouchet Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: July 5, 2016
Unbelievable experience of one month! Come to share good tea with this beauti... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use