help exchange   Host 49666
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Tohmajärvi
All Year: From March to December
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 49666
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 13, 2019

Hi there!

We are a young Finnish family living on a historical farm in the Eastern Finland close to Russian border. We are looking for handy helpers to help out with various kinds of tasks on our land.

We run a business in tourism, forestry and agriculture on our farm. We have lakeside cabins that can be rented for spending a holiday and a smoke sauna area for arranging functions in a unique setting. At the moment we are concentrating on ecological tourism at our lakeside area and we want to offer our guests authentic experiences with the minimal effect on the nature.

We have two cats that live in the house with us, but we don't have any other animals of our own. However, in the summertime we have some sheep that we look after. Around our house we have big gardens with apple trees, plum trees, berries and in the summer we grow some vegetables. The fruit, berries and vegetables we preserve for the winter.
Our land is right next to a lake and our home is surrounded by fields and forests, that offer mushrooms, berries, herbs and fire wood.

Our goal is to turn our farm into a unique, interesting and beautiful place to live for us and maybe other people, too. We are also dreaming of becoming more self-sufficient in the future. To achieve all this, there are a lot of various projects to do on our farm. So, help will be needed with running the everyday tasks but also with some bigger projects. The work will depend a lot on the time of the year, the weather and the skills and interests of the helpers. We will work mostly outdoors and the work can be physically challenging at times. The tasks can include gardening, forestry work, clearing the snow in the wintertime, cleaning up, making fences or fire wood, washing the carpets or windows, building, painting, landscaping and so on and so on.. The helpers are also expected to do some housework. At the moment we are doing some building/renovation, so helpers with carpentry skills or willing to learn that kind of thing are very welcome!

You will be living in our home with our family and our two cats. Our family includes mum, dad, two daugthers (born in 2010 and 2018) and two sons (born in 2012 and 2015). We will provide all the meals and an accommodation in your own room with a double bed, sofa and a private shower/toilet. In return we expect our helpers to work for an average of 6 hours a day 5 days a week, so there will always be some days off for exploring the surroundings. We hope our helpers to be flexible in terms of working hours and tasks, and capable to work independently at times. We mostly prefer hosting couples or friends traveling together.

On your free time you can do activities such as cycling, hiking, swimming in a lake or rowing a boat (in the summer) or skating, skiing or ice fishing (in the winter). The lake Tohmajärvi is close to house and our place is surrounded by beautiful landscapes, so enjoying the surrounding nature is definitely one of the best things to do at our house. The closest shops are seven kilometers away in the town centre of Tohmajärvi and more shops can be found in Kitee, which is 15 minute drive away. The closest bigger city, Joensuu, is about an hour-drive away from us, while the Russian border can be reached in a good half an hour. There is a bus stop two kilometers away by the main road and there are some buses going to the direction of Kitee/Savonlinna and Tohmajärvi/Joensuu. However, the public transportation is pretty poor, and we are also happy to help our helpers to get to interesting places or shops, if needed.

Family, friends, good food, tea and sauna play an important role in our life. Tuomas is in to wood carving and woodwork in general, while Reetta enjoys baking, sewing and learning about using natural chemicals in household and beauty care.

Welcome to experience our way of Finnish family life in the beautiful countryside of Tohmajärvi!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use