help exchange   Host 49772
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 49772
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 19, 2019

We might need some help from spring time beginning march. Mostly with all the garden work and generally with cooking and entertaining and caring for our children together with us.


We are Bart 30, Ida 29, Johan 3,5 and Noor (0). We have a homestead next to the forest and a lake in west coast Norway to which we recently moved about 3 years ago.


Update: We are now looking for an eager individual or couple who would be interested in self sustainability and growing vegetables (planting, sowing, general upkeep of the garden) or timber framing;this however must be quite a specific interest as it´s Bart´s job and it can be quite intense hard work.

You dont need any previous experience, but must be prepared for some demanding physical work. We try to make sure that you learn as much as possible and were happy to guide you through all the work you do, as long as your willing to get stuck in!
The work will involve using power tools such as table saws and chainsaws. But dont be scared, well be there to teach you how to use them safely.

Helpers need to be comfortable with taking on a wide range of work and also be happy to assist with the day to day running of the household. We like our helpers to become part of our family so help with cooking and cleaning is also appreciated.

Because of the nature of our work, it´s not possible for us to tell you precisely when these projects will start and finish. We can´t garuntee that everyone will get the chance to work on the project they prefer, but we hope that everyone will get the opportunity to work on something that they will find fulfilling.

We will always be able to help and advise you, but we do like people to be able to work independently at times, so were well suited to couples and friends who can keep them self company if we have to work outside the home.

We have no fixed amount of hours and two days off. we are very flexible and the days can be chosen according to the weather.

We are also very interested in taking on volunteers on a more long term basis. Ideally this would be over a period of several months. We would like to invite someone to see the process of building a timber frame from start to finish whilst gaining a far deeper knowledge of carpentery and woodworking.

We have 2 brilliant children so any helpers coming must like kids! :) Johan is very used to being around new people, he can speak good english, and we are always happy if you would like to look after him a bit now and then. He loves tractors and farmer play beyond words.

The area we live in is stunning , and there are many activities you´re able to do around here if you´re an adventurous, outdoors type (like us). We live right next to a lake on which we have a rowing boat you´re able to use. There´s also a fjord 10 minutes to the south, where we also have a wooden rowing boat. The community we live in is pretty much surrounded by forests and big hills so plenty of chances for hiking! We can also advise you on what to experience in Norway in general as we have traveled quite a bit in the country.

Bart has experience as both helper and host so we will try and create the most welcoming atmosphere for you, as we ourselves would want it to be as helpers. We are also social with the neighbour who is also a helpx host, and with Ida's family that live close by.

We have mainly a traditional diet (meat cooked on the bone, fermented foods, unpasturised dairy and so on..) We eat ecological meat from local farms and fish caught from our friends and family, when given the chance, but mostly we try to eat our own veggies, and eggs. We are passionate about growing and preserving our own food as far as we can, and Ida is quite a nutrition nerd, with too little time to cook as much as she would like.

We have internet you can use, and you will get your own room, either inside the house, or the caravan.

We will only consider helpers that have read the whole profile and have a special interest in our place rather than just people looking for a cheap way of travel.

We can always expect a lot of rain on the west coast, so make sure youre equipped with sturdy rain gear and decent footwear because we will often be working outside.
Even though the climate can be harsh and the work can be demanding we hope that you will find yourself falling in love with this beautiful landscape and these centuries old trades as we have done.And some of the best friendship for us have been made this way.

Look forward to seeing you!

Bart, Ida

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use