help exchange   Host 5028
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes, when we are at home
Area (ha): 1/2
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 5028
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2018

Please read our full description so you`ll know better how it will be your experience here. We want you to have an excellent experience!!

Help needed in July and August for building, cleaning the forest and the food forest.

We are Francesco, Angelica, Soleima, Benjamin and Pauahtun. We live in a peaceful place surrounded by oak-ash-hornbeam forest and mediterranean vegetation. The place is in the Abruzzo region where about one third of the land is a protected area. We are also not far from the sea, about 20 km and usually we go for a walk or bath in the summertime.
That`s to say that if you`re looking for a beautiful place and contact with Nature, you found it!!

Generally we need help in the garden and orchard (seeding, planting, digging, collecting seeds, fruits, wild vegetables etc.), to cut wood for the winter and for cooking, to build with earth and straw and other materials according to the project, (almost every work without machines).

At home we usually make things you could be interested to learn as: bread baking, solar cooking, wild edible plants collecting, wood working according to the period.

We like to have children and not so much dogs; we prefer no-smokers.
We have water in the house (warm water with wood heater), a little photovoltaic electricity to recharge electric devices, for lighting, listening music etc, a solar shower.
We have an earthen mass heater that we built on our own. Francesco is one of the few people in Italy that has more of 15 years of experience of building earthen houses and earthen stoves.
We have an earthen wood fired oven to bake bread. (It needs to be restored and that`s one of the next works we will do).
We have most of the time vegan meals and eat many wild plants and fruits according to the season.
We will make shifts in the kitchen for cooking and washing dishes.
We ask for 6 hours work per day, but we are not the guys who look at the clock and prefer a self-regulated and enjoying working time. In the 6 hours we don`t include the kitchen work.

We have had people who worked less for some reasons and people who didn`t want to stop working. Just be responsible of what you are doing and where you are, please.

We often meet with our friends that run ecological farms around us to spend some time together, have a party, a dinner, an ice cream or run some other work project.

The person we would like to host is someone:
- who likes natural way of life and deep contact with Mother Nature and the Earth.
- who tries to respect and use carefully any resource;
- who respects food and don`t waste it;
- who likes to be in the countryside. This means that the volonteer won`t run away if she/he sees insects, spiders, snakes or other small animals that we usually meet (there are not dangerous animals) or that she/he likes a bit adventure or making her/his clothes dirty;
- who is tidy and put tools and other things back to his place. PLEASE!!
If you have had past body or mental problems please let us know so we can adapt our rythm or plans and know each other better.

Spoken languages: German, English, French, Spanish.

Thanks for contacting us and don`t hesitate to ask all information you want to have.
We are always glad to have volonteers and volonteers have generally a wonderful experience! For quicker contact you can send us a whatsapp message at 0039 3298064297.

reviews (5)
Helper: Tommaso Simonelli Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: May 12, 2017
I spent 10 days here at Casetta del Nibbio, a really nice spot ... hidden in ... view complete review

Helper: Olivier and Chloé Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 26, 2014
We had a very interesting stay at Francesco's place, it was a great first exp... view complete review

Helper: Davide and Otilia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: August 5, 2013
Nibbio is a very interesting laid-back guy living in a sustainable rural envi... view complete review

Helper: David Malicki Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: May 25, 2011
Staying with Francesco, working and learning with him, were great experiences... view complete review

Helper: N Marie Profile: hidden - premier members only  
From: United Kingdom Date: April 24, 2010
This was a wonderful week and 1/2 ... Francesco and Giulia are 2 special ... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use