help exchange   Host 50401
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 81
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 50401
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 7, 2018

Greetings from the Midlands of Ireland! We are a centrally located Castle House steeped in history dating back to the 1600's. The estate is located on 200 idyllic acres with a scenic pond, working farm, woods to walk in and a large walled garden. The house is also a B & B. We have dogs, cattle, horses and chickens. We are looking for 1 or 2 motivated and independent souls who like to laugh and can help with the various tasks here. We'd especially love to get someone to help with the manual labor of the farm, tractor driving, clearing out ivy etc. But if you're interested in animal care, gardening, cooking or such, you're more than welcome to help! No two days are the same here. Food will be provided but the helpers mainly cook their own meals, cook together or take turns. As mentioned, we are located in County Westmeath in the center of Ireland: travel time to Dublin is one hour and travel time to Galway City is one and a half hours. The nearest town is Mullingar/Killbeggan. The place is quite isolated, but you will be welcome to join our animal keeper/gardener on her trips around.

We can teach you English (and bits and pieces of some other languages if you're interested) and a bit about farming and gardening. You can stay 3 weeks; more if things work out. You will be given accommodation on the property, in a comfortable room. Smoking is allowed outside only.

Please note that we are a meat-producing farm. All of our animals are cared for with affection nevertheless, but it is a good point to make. It doesn't matter to us what you eat or don't eat, as long as you make sure you take care of yourself and fit in to the place. We also like people over 22 who know basic English, can cook and have an open, friendly way about themselves and an interest towards life in the countryside. Please send us a detailed email stating your experience, and brief description of yourself.

Thank you for reading our profile.

reviews (1)
Helper: Marylou Valencia Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: November 8, 2016
Hello future helpers!!! : ) I'm very excited to write this review and share m... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use