help exchange   Host 50438
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 25
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 50438
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 12, 2018

We are a boutique Goat Dairy Farm running about 100 goats and other livestock including Llama, Alpaca, Pigs, Horses and Poultry.
We farm as holistically as we are able and follow organic/biodynamic principles.
We have an abundance of wildlife that live on and travel through our property.

What we would like from you :
A genuine love of animals and a desire to help us in our quest for land improvement for the benefit of all.
Approx 25-30 hours week.
Farm Maintenance – Weed wacking, lawn-mowing, Farm Improvements – Fencing, Tree Planting, Construction of shelters and small building projects, creating paths through bushland, Marron ponds.
Livestock – Feeding, Mucking out, Moving
Gardening – Planting and care of trees and vegetable seedlings. Increasing our current worm farm. Generalised weeding and planting.
Market Days – We attend markets four times a week with our Goat Produce and Organic/Biodynamic meats. At times some assistance may be appreciated.
You must be able to work unsupervised and not afraid to get your hands dirty!
Have other skills or preferences? Let us know, happy to give anyone a go.

What we can offer you:
Our farm is 20 minutes from the pristine town of Denmark and 40 minutes from the historic town of Albany. Both are incredibly beautiful places to visit and explore. We are 5 minutes from Lowlands beach, wonderful to explore, swim, go fishing or just relax and watch the sun go down.
Full Board. Basic sleeping accommodation in shed with access to our home for everything else. We do expect some help with simple housekeeping chores, usually dishes.
Happy to cater for vegetarians (vegans are harder, but willing to try but please let us know beforehand)

We are an easy going family that have enjoyed travelling the world and are pleased to have travellers in our home to share stories and cultures.
If you don’t have a licence, we regularly go to both Denmark and Albany and are happy to show you the sights.
Trail Riding may be available to experienced riders.
We are surrounded by walking trails including the Bibbulmun track.
Not so worried about English speaking skills so long as we can communicate.
Strictly no Smokers please.
You need to be willing to commit to stay for a minimum of 2 weeks, preferably 3.
Please feel free to email us.

Please note that sleeping is in our "Shed", as stated above. It is Basic, clean, neat and tidy. There are fridges and a water pump in this shed to service our House, Farm and Cheesemaking Kitchen. These can be noisy. This Shed is regularly inspected by the State Health Dept, most recently 20th Sept 2017. It has a concrete floor with natural lighting through the roof. Please see Photo. Please ask questions. After some 35 visitors, recently was the first time we have been made informed that it was unsatisfactory for one of our helper guests. Please Note, we also have Poultry and Animals that do not sleep the same hours as us. They also can be noisy. This is a working FARM. :)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use