help exchange   Host 50661
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Co. Galway
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.75 acres
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50661
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 19, 2019

We are a family of 5, 2 adults and 3 children, two boys aged 8, and 5 and a half years old, and a new baby girl born in June 2018. We have one dog, a guinea pig and a rabbit. We live on a beautiful piece of land about 20 minutes drive from Galway City and just on the doorstep of the gateway to Connemara, which is a very popular destination for anyone wanting to see the beauty of Ireland. We home-school our children, following the unschooling method in particular. Our daily routine consists of all the normal domestic chores around meals, feeding the animals, doing the shopping and also lots of adventure, play and fun. Currently we are building our house, which is a rennovation of an old Irish cottage. There are woods, mountains and beautiful gardens all in close proximity to us and we try to get out as often as we can. Less than 5 minutes walk from our home is a regular bus service, which goes directly to Galway city and also in the opposite direction out to Connemara. We cook food from fresh every day and are vegetarian.

At the moment we need help with our building project. Direction and guidance will be given and we need someone up for laboring. We need people who are prepared to pay attention to detail and complete tasks to the very best of their ability. This is a wonderful opportunity to learn skills and methods of building your own home.We also need help with the general daily domestic chores, feeding the animals, but particularly we need someone who loves the company of children. We feel our children learn a lot from good quality contact with others. We also have some outdoor work in the garden.

Currently we live temporarily in a mobile home. Accommodation for helpers is in a separate cozy caravan, with a solid fuel stove. You will have your own living area, bed, toilet and full kitchen. The toilet is outside the caravan in a separate, covered deck area and it is a compost toilet. Currently there is no running hot water in the caravan, and although there is a camping shower, which can be filled with hot water, and a shower room, this may not be for everyone. We are more than happy for you to shower in our home where there is all the hot water you will need!! The caravan has internet, via an ethernet cable which can be plugged into your computer.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use