help exchange   Host 50927
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Yapeen
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 50927
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 15, 2019

We live on a 5 acre rural block in Yapeen, Central Victoria. Yapeen is a great mix of quiet countryside within easy access to the historic goldfields and artistic hub of Castlemaine. We are owner builders and in the process of finishing a unique, off grid house. Our block has a diversity of native grasses, some large remnant trees, an abundance of reptiles and birds, resident frogs and visiting kangaroos.

We have lots of plans and are in need of extra hands to get things done, but also keen for good company and to learn from and teach others. Work we need help with is maintaining and improving the biodiversity on the block (weeding, native plant propagation, planting and watering revegetation patches and making wildlife habitat such as nesting boxes), house/shed building, animal fencing and gardening we have an orchard and a large vegetable garden. We use organic methods only and implement permaculture concepts whenever possible.

Activities you can do in your time off include bush walks, bird watching, visiting waterholes we are close proximity to a natural swimming hole at Vaughan Springs. We have a spa/plunge pool available in the summer and a pleasant outside area for relaxing. Castlemaine has a vibrant alternative community and a huge array of activities available, for example art exhibitions, performances, live music, pubs, bars and cafes, an historic cinema, great facilities for children, plenty of shops and numerous festivals.

Helpers will stay in either a separate dwelling with cooking and bathroom facilities or powered tent in some instances. We prefer to cook and eat together and are keen to experience cuisine from other cultures. We have an enthusiastic almost 3 year old and would welcome others with small children.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use