help exchange   Host 51170
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Town lot
Persons: 1-6
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51170
Region: Nova Scotia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 10, 2017

I'm a single dad with a 11-year-old daughter who lives with me half the time and a 2 1/2-year-old boy who comes on occasion.

We have a small farmers market business which consists of honey and maple, locally sourced pancake mix/porridge, tinctures etc.

The Lunenburg Farmers' Market is every Thursday and we have been selling there for over three years.

Our house is located in Lunenburg's "Old town" UNESCO world heritage site approximately four minute walk to the front harbour. Lunenburg Nova Scotia is located approximately one hour and 15 minutes away from the Halifax international airport in approximately one hour from Halifax itself. Our town is filled with all sorts of restaurants, pubs, shops, cafés, museums , tour boats as well as schools for studying art, music, heritage carpentry and languages. There are many world-class concerts happening year round at the Lunenburg Academy of Music Performance just a half a block from our house as well as open mic nights, Folk harbour festival, boxwood festival etc.

I practice aikido three times a week and sail whenever possible.

I have a number of projects on the go and could use help in many different areas including forestry/silviculture, primitive building, gardening, property maintenance wild crafting, processing of herbal medicine, jams, jellies, canning, making syrups etc. but what I'm really looking for is somebody who wants to clean and maintain my household. Our house is 120 years old it is incredibly well insulated, well built and very large (2700sqf). I'm not a hoarder but my house is untidy and disorganized. If you know how to Kijijify and think you would enjoy cleaning, sorting, organizing, discarding and selling stuff then you would be very welcome in our home.

I'm an excellent cook and my daughter Lilly loves to bake but I would prefer to restrict more elaborate meals to a few times a week and special occasions. I would love to get into a routine of simple organic and local meals.

We source about half of what we eat at the local farmers market every week and we are always happy to place bulk food orders for staples like organic rice, popcorn etc.

We do not have Wi-Fi.
There is a local library (two blocks away) and many local coffee shops which have Wi-Fi in the area.

My daughter has been (Waldorf) educated over the last five years but may go to public school for the first time this fall. She she is fluent in German and my French and Spanish are both good.

If you have the ability to do research, right business plans or have any skills with respect to small business accounting these are also areas where we could always use a hand.

Looking forward to hearing from you.



Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use