help exchange   Host 51207
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

La Brée les bains
All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51207
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 9, 2019

*** UPDATE: THANK YOU, ALL, I have found the Helpxers I need for the time being, but if you are looking for an opportunity in Spring 2020, please drop me a note. Muchas gracias!

* * *

Welcome to the île d'Oléron! Here in a seaside village, on the north-western shore of this 30 km x 12 km island, I live in a house that I designed and in many respects built myself. Lots of light and space, and a big, somewhat wild garden.

I am looking for solo helpers (sorry, but non-smokers only, please, and no drugs) who would be willing to help me learn beginning Spanish. Stays of two weeks or longer would be ideal, providing everyone feels comfortable. (A good HelpX situation fits the needs of both helper and host!)

About 2 hours of Spanish, plus 2 hours of upkeep work in the garden (for the fun of getting our hands dirty) per day, 5 days a week, in exchange for room & board. I am fairly flexible about which days and which hours we work, since I am considerate of my Helpers' needs (some people like to sleep in, or to go off for a day trip on a weekday), and since occasional translating work sometimes gets first billing in my daily schedule.

I have a daughter (16) who is at home and with me week on/week off. Helpers will have a separate bedroom to themselves upstairs, and will share a bathroom with my children when they are at home. My room, and separate bathroom, are downstairs, and I will not intrude upon your upstairs space.

House has wifi/internet and computers, but no television.

I observe a more or less vegan diet; I bake my own bread and chapatis, and content myself with fairly simple fare. I do however do some different meals for my children that use dairy (pizza, pancakes, waffles), AND I make some nice desserts (cookies and brownies, and chocolate sorbet :-)

Helpers will find that the island is a place where you can slow down and make peace with your own rhythm. A nice beach is just 3 minutes away by foot. I can provide you with a bicycle for getting around... there are other great beaches to discover, there's a lighthouse you can visit (great view from the top, after climbing 224 steps), numerous surf spots (we can loan you a surfboard or a bodyboard), and lots of nature and birds to see, too. In nearby St Pierre, there is a 3 screen "Arts et essai" cinema that programs a wide variety of films, and every month there are a number of shows and concerts on offer.

During much of the year, there is boat service from Oléron to Aix island (Napoleon spent his last night on French soil there) and nearby La Rochelle – both make great destinations for a day-trip, or even a weekend getaway.

ABOUT ME: Originally from California, I am first and foremost a writer (you might want to look up "The pig who wished to be a horse ...and other tales", ISBN 978-2954635293). But I'm also a musician (acoustic guitar playing singer-songwriter)... a translator... an editor... a publisher... a dabbler in paints and ink... and a bit of a Jack-of-all-trades.

I speak French and English fluently, and just enough German to swear like a sour Kraut when I hurt myself with a garden tool. I enjoy one-on-one conversations and hearing about helpers' thoughts on life, drawn from their personal experience... I seem to learn lots of things that way!

reviews (1)
Helper: Silja Mosmann Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Sweden Date: November 2, 2016
Peter is an absolutely great host! He made me really feel at home from the fi... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use