help exchange   Host 51258
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2-3 people
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51258
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 5, 2018

Seeking helpx person for organic gardening and rural maintenance on 5 acre block within Castlemaine Diggings National Park.

We're looking for someone or a couple to help out with the garden and general property maintenance. Duties vary from gardening, orchard maintenance, lawn cutting, fence repair, small building/repair jobs (for any keen handyperson) and just general tidying up (window cleaning, oiling exterior and decks, cleaning gutters, some painting, etc.).

Skills required are: outdoors person willing to get dirty. gardening experience or handyperson skills would be great but not essential. Overall we're looking for someone who is considerate with a sense of pride and initiative,

We ask for 41/2 hours a day of help, 5 days a week (22 hours a week with weekends free). Guests are asked to help with preparation and clean up of meals, this is a community event and not included in hours.
Three days minimum or longer.

Meals:most of our food is local, organic and home grown. Home made bread, yogurt, preserves etc.

Accommodation- We have a newly constructed self contained cabin (except shower) which has heating/cooling, located under a large oak tree (see photos). There is also a bedroom in our home. so we can accomodate 2-3 people in total.
There is some Wi-Fi (generally good), good Telstra mobile range

Everyone on the property is passionate about sustainability, nature, growing and preserving organic food. Damien and I are also active in the outdoors including camping, bushwalking, canoeing etc. We practice yoga daily and have basic level yoga teaching qualifications if helper would like to learn. There are 2 dogs, chickens and 3 sheep.

Would prefer someone who:
- Has similar environmental/community values
- Likes dogs
- Does not take drugs and is not an excessive drinker

Send us a message telling us about yourself if you are interested.

More information on Location
We are ten minutes outside the township of Castlemaine (population 7,000) and just over one hour train ride from Melbourne. Cstlemaine is a cool town for those interested in alternative lifestyles, there are constant events on relating to community, arts music, food etc. There is also many bushwalks, mountain bike tracks etc around the area. We are on the Great Dividing Trail Bushwalk/bike ride.

The property is surrounded by Box-Ironbark Forest which is abundant with birds, kangaroos, sugar gliders etc. This is a small hobby farm which is a quiet space surrounded by nature, has clean fresh tank water, fresh eggs from the chickens and vegetables from the gardeners . Yet close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the lovely town of Castlemaine and a short train ride from Melbourne.

We are in our mid 40ís and are both ecologists and run a small ecology company (mostly in wetlands). There are times when we will be working or camping away for a few days and guests are free to come along if that interests them. There is also another couple who live on the block in their mid-30ís.

We have car/camper parking spaces if you have a car otherwise we may be able to arrange return transport into Castlemaine where we go regularly. There are also bikes and it is a 30-40-minute ride. There are many trains daily to Melbourne from Castlemaine which takes 1 hour and 15 minutes.

reviews (2)
Helper: Gabriela Mysliwczuk Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Argentina Date: August 10, 2018
I stayed with Elaine and Damien, oh! and Simba (a lovely dog) from the 17th t... view complete review

Helper: Carmel Killin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Australia Date: June 23, 2017
Came for a few days, stayed a few weeks. Warm, generous, intelligent, funn... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use