help exchange   Host 5144
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Granada
All Year: Spring /Autumn
Area (ha): 0.505
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 5144
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 15, 2019

WANTED: a young person (preferably female... sorry guys!) to help with our dogs, land etc this autumn as we're both getting on a bit now! For us a singleton is better because at this time there isn't enough for 2 people to do. We did some great work this year with volunteer help and we're very grateful, met some splendid people and have achieved a lot. Would you like to help us complete some of the unfinished tasks like painting railings, doors and walls - or planting young trees and generally sorting out the garden after the summer heat.

Do you like wide open spaces, clean air, beautiful mountains and good company at meal time? If so this could be the place for you. We have 1.25 acres of Spanish campo land which needs attention, we are building stone walls and still developing the gardens - plus doing all sorts of things on the land like picking olives from our 25 trees. Currently we have 5 dogs (all rescue) and 5 cats. We have rescued and moved on over 125 dogs/pups in the last 5 years, it's very rewarding and they have been great fun. The dogs are outdoors with their own 'houses', they run around in a half-acre paddock. The cats are house cats so have a very comfortable life.

We need a strong fit helper as we are both a bit past it! We like positively motivated people to help us with all we have to do, but we have fun too and last year our helpers were very happy and stayed longer than they had planned. We have friends here who also take helpers so we may be able to help you to your next place if you like it here. We have successfully managed to do this 3 times now.

Our country house is in the Alpujarra Valley, half way between Granada and the coast. We let the main house, in the summer and holiday times, while we mostly live in the adjoining casita. We've done quite a bit of work on both 'homes' sometimes with the help of volunteers.

We have over 70 trees which need to be cared for and from Nov to Feb the almonds and olives need to be picked. We have created a beautiful garden complete with pool, so there's always work to do, watering and tending for everything.

Our volunteer will stay in their own room with bathroom, and will share our kitchen. Breakfast is provided on a help yourself basis, but we make lunch and supper for our 'family' including you. We expect approx 5 hours help per day, 5 days a week. Usually we like to have the weekends off and helpers are free to come and go as they please, to take a packed lunch and go walking or whatever, but we like to have the evening meal together if possible as this maintains a community atmosphere.

ACCOMMODATION: Our volunteers will stay in their own room with bathroom, and will share our kitchen. We make lunch and supper for our helpers and like to have a family style feel to our meals together.

ABOUT US: We are very easy going and do our best to make our volunteer workers stay as pleasant as possible. We are flexible about hours and which days you work, however we like to keep the weekends quiet! We had a good year with volunteers last Winter/Spring and are now looking forward to meeting more interesting, enthusiastic and hard-working people this Autumn and spring 2020.

THE AREA: Orgiva is in the Alpujarra Valley which is 1500 feet above sea level, an area of outstanding natural beauty and a paradise for walking, cycling and horse riding. The highest mountain in southern Europe, Mulhacen, is walkable for the fit, it takes about 5 hours. Orgiva is 35 mins drive from the Costa Del Sol, the nearest beach is at Motril, but there are many beautiful beaches and interesting resorts including Almunecar (Jazz Festival mid July), La Herradura, and Nerja which has several beaches.

Orgiva is a very special place, it is very New Age, full of alternative ways of living (yurts/vans etc) including travellers and hippies. Market day is busy and full of colour and life of all sorts. We are 5 mins (2km) drive to Orgiva which is the nearest town, or a 40 minute walk.

Malaga is the best airport for us, although Granada is closer there are very few international flights. Malaga is 1 hour 40 mins drive, there are two buses a day direct to Orgiva, but many buses via Granada where you change bus.

From Orgiva there are many places to visit - It is half an hour's drive to Pampaneira and Capilleira, two of the highest mountain villages in Spain. Granada, 1.5 hours by bus, is a beautiful cultured city and the famous Alhambra Palace is a must see. There are 2 buses a day down to the coast where there are good bus connections.

MORE: We have wifi and a good mobile signal

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use