help exchange   Host 51480
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51480
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 30, 2017

Hello, we are an English and Welsh couple who have retired to the Ariege on the Spanish/Andorra borders with France, Vaughan 67 and Sandra 63.
We are in the newest French Natural Park, 4 km from Tarascon sur Ariege, in the lower Vicdessos valley and are the only non-French residents so plenty of opportunities to immerse in the local area and speak French or Patois!
The Tour de France cycle race has passed our door many times and this year, Bastille day, is in our county of the Ariege all day, watching in Foix, the county town, just 12km away is on our calendar.
Our local fete will be in July and is held in the place immediately outside the rear of our home.
Walking, rock climbing, fishing, swimmimng in the lakes, river or local pools and we have a Decathlon 21 speed mountain bike available.
You will have your own double bedroom and bathroom on the 2nd floor. PHOTOS AVAILABLE.
Regular trips to Andorra are made and guest/s is/are welcome to join us.
We have need of 1 or 2 people to help with the following;
some roofing work, changing ridge tiles; only need person to service Vaughan through the Velux roof light taking broken tiles and passing replacements.
Assistance with replacing our timber terrace, including new blockwork, installation of new floor joists, insulation, concrete mixing with an electric mixer, helping to lift/lay the concrete subject to stamina levels and strength.
We have a garden across the road which is laid to grass and some assistance to strim, mow and prune trees, gather fruit would be appreciated.
We have a gite for holiday use next door and assistance greeting guests and socialising with them is to be encouraged.
If you want more information just email us.
We are looking for help from 12th June until end of August 2017 when we hope to complete the works as listed to the rear terrace.
We speak French and are constantly trying to improve our knowledge via our neighbours, receiving lessons from one of them, you may join in if you wish.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use