help exchange   Host 51700
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Le Soulie
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51700
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 9, 2019

I left the UK about ten years ago and after travelling, working and helpxing all over the world (see my helpx and Couchsurfing profiles a for details) I have decided to set up a base in the south of France. I speak English and very basic French. The situation might suite someone for a few days as they pass by or someone looking for somewhere to hole up for longer...

All jobs relate to converting a couple of barns and garden/field near La Salvetat sur Agout in the Haut-Languedoc Natural Park in the south of France. The property is to be a home and is not a working business. Friends and family visit occasionally but mostly I'm working on the project alone. There is a lot to do requiring a variety of abilities, so you are welcome whether you have skills to bring or just want to experience something new. I'll list the jobs at the end and add and subtract as things progress...

The immediate area is mixed forest dotted with lakes and crossed with walking routes and mountain bike trails. An ideal location for lovers of nature and outdoor country sports. I'm still new to the area and like to take at least one day a week for exploration. Helpers hours are negotiable and flexible depending on your plans and the work that needs doing at the time. (I have been a helper on and off for the last 10 years and based my volunteering on working 4-5 hours a day, meals taken together, one day off a week.)

I'm sure you can research the area on your own interests for your free time but here are a few keywords for the type of activities I have discovered already:-
Markets, Lakes and Rivers - swimming, fly fishing, sailing. Forests - hiking/walking, VTT/mountain biking, mushroom hunting, wildlife spotting. Mountains - skiing, rock climbing. Historic villages and towns crafts, artisans, local beer honey wine - charcuterie.

With a couple of days off you could explore further afield with Toulouse, Montpellier and Carcassonne near-by. The Pyrenees and Andorra are not far and are accessible over a long weekend.

I have a small shepherds hut and caravan in the garden. Bed, Table and chairs, books and game. solar power for light/phone charging and small woodburner for when its cold. Your own space to chill out and sleep. Bathroom is in the main house. normally we would eat together. (Possibility of a small self contained 'Gite' for a long stay helper)

Jobs that need doing:-
For 2019 i am looking for a long term helper to take over the gardening. From planning, through planting and caring to harvest and preserving. min 6 months.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use