help exchange   Host 5172
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Coromandel
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 160
Persons: 1 to 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 5172
Region: Coromandel

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 15, 2020

NON SMOKING + LGBT friendly + Bi-cultural

Summer 2019/20: If you are travelling in a van or with a tent and are just want to stay in ONE spot for some weeks
We are happy to welcome you.

And over December and January, we might have a deal for you:
Pitch your tent or park your van on our property. We have a composting toilet in the orchard and the stream is great to go for a dip. Potable water comes straight out of a creek. A nice beach to swim (Big Sandy) is 30min walking distance north of us (5min drive). A beauty (Waikawau Bay - 20min drive by car south). We supply a cooker and LPG gas bottle and you get a little bit of space for chilled/ frozen bits (by arrangement) in our fridge. We will supply breakfast supplies and we will have some evenings a shared dinner. The rest is on you...
In exchange; Help for two Hours a day with tasks like weeding, mulching, watering, - Or do a couple of long days and have the rest of the week off.


From end of January on +++ we are looking for one person or a couple for a week or so at a time (negotiable), who would like to help with some gardening, weed control on a property scale, track maintenance and developing an area for planting and potting natives ... We are happy for you to stay longer and also help in the local conservation project (for more, see below) . You need to be happy to working in wet weather!

If the weather is fine, you might be accommodated in our VERY big tent in the orchard. (tent currently needs some TLC, but we will get onto it).


General conservation work opportunity with Moehau Environment Group:
You will mainly be working in Port Charles, but on occasions, be going with the field team out to other areas between Coromandel Town and Port Charles, for some work. You can find maps of MEG's project areas on the MEG web page.
For working with MEG as volunteer, there are also options just to muck in for a day or some, but staying by yourself on a campground or in a hostel. So not as helpX. Get in touch for working bees and more info.


PLEASE only get in touch if you are sure this kind of HELPx is for you. We do not have much time for endless "communication ping-pong" or announced coming and then pulling out. Neither do we appreciate blind mass applications with total mismatch of expectations.

... Thanks for your understanding. I am not answering bulk emails you sent to us as hosts...

General information/ description for helpers:
... we are looking for helpers on the property with maintenance, track clearing, weed control and gardening. Somebody who is happy to work hard - digging weeds and helping with clearing fences, mulching, track maintenance and clearing and many more other tasks.
We can provide accommodation in a spare bed room in our house or [possibly in our BIG tent in the orchard] from around March 2020 again
Repairing a caravan could also be a task - the caravan will hopefully become long-term an independent helpers accommodation. Preferred would be helpers staying from 7-10 days, possibly longer, depending on weather, tasks and with mutual agreement. All work is outdoor work!

To you - the Helper: Ideally I am looking for you to do longer work days, alternating with days off. We still provide for your meals. BUT for you time to go out and explore the surroundings for a day or two. We do expect the helper to be independent and not to sit "on the couch in our living room", when not at work. The layout of our house does not support this. The property (outdooors)is very spacious. Heaps of opportunity for taking photos, going bush, going for walks, swimming in the sea, refreshing in the swimming hole.

Having your own transport would be helpful. But we can help to arrange transport from and to us.

Internet is available in Colville at the Social Service Office for a small fee or with a weakish signal on Telecom/ Vodafone for smart phone owners here in Port Charles.



Your own transport would be great. Mainly for yourselves, because of the remote situation but there are plenty of nature things to do in "walking distance" for your days off...

If you do like camping/ have a caravan: Having more than one volunteer at a time makes the logistics for us more easy so do not hesitate to ask if you and your bunch are welcome. We could accommodate quite a lot and set up a working bee with morning tea, lunch and BBQ on the warmer season.

We offer insights in hands-on conservation work with other locals, who love what they are doing.
Projects are
+ general kiwi habitat restoration
+ rat/mustelid trapping
+ possum control
+ plantings
+ weed control
+ wetland restoration
+ bird monitoring (kiwis are especially active
calling in the winter months!- call monitoring)
+ helping with day to day tasks around the MEG
team members houses you are staying with (might
be the vege garden or the fire wood)

and much much more....

I am looking forward to hearing from you,

Katharina

Facebook Port Charles Coromandel
NaturschutzFreiwillige Neuseeland
Moehau Environment Group (MEG)

P.S. birds around here: North Island Robin (Toutouwai) - kereru - tui - fantail - bittern - kaka - kiwi - banded rail - pateke - quail - morepork - silver eye - bellbird - heron - shore birds (incl NZ dotterel), shining cuckoo - ....and many introduced birds

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use