help exchange   Host 51763
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Macedon
All Year: From September 2019
Area (ha): 2
Persons: Couple or 2 Friends
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 51763
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 13, 2019

We are an art-orientated happily retired and non-smoking couple, living on a 5 acres country/bush property in the township of Macedon, Victoria. Macedon is located about 65km from Melbourne amongst the picturesque hills of the Macedon Ranges and nearby Wineries. From Melbourne, catch the country Bendigo V/Line train from Southern Cross Station to Macedon. This will take approximately 50 minutes.

Prior to retirement Jeanette was a retail manager and Alex was an academic and Director of the Photographic Department at the RMIT University in Melbourne as well as lecturing in Photography for the past 30 years.

We have travelled extensively overseas mainly in USA and Europe and have for the past 21 years conducted Art/Photography tours to Paris France. See website: www.parisimpressioniststour.com

In Macedon, we are in the heart of the tourist region – close to 'Hanging Rock' Reserve (a distinctive geological formation), Daylesford (Mineral Springs regional town) and the historical 1850’s gold rush-mining towns of Bendigo and Ballarat.

Our property is located only 5 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk from the Macedon township which includes our local Macedon train station. Owner car would be an advantage to further enable you to fully explore near by regional areas on your free time. However we do have bikes which you can borrow for the duration of your stay with us.

We are amongst plenty of wildlife such as kangaroos, rabbits, and the occasional koala roaming our property. There are many varieties of birdlife too that visit our verandas each day, which is why we don't have any domestic animals such as cats/dogs.

Our home is a large 2-level dwelling. Your living quarters (see photo below) located in the lower level of our house, is close to your own separate ensuite – shower/toilet. Your room has a double bed, couch, desk and large monitor with DVD/Blue Ray player and access to our huge collection of feature films & documentaries. You will also have free access to our home's Wi-Fi system. Please note that all internal areas of our home are a non-smoking. All meals are provided whilst you are on our premise during the 5-days working week. On your 2 days off, we only provide breakfasts to encourage you to take advantage of your full day to explore the surrounding townships or Melbourne.

We cook a variety of local and international meat, fish and vegetable meals. Please let us know in advance if you have any dietary tolerances so that we can cater for you. We usually eat together at mealtimes. Sorry, we do not cater for Vegans.

In exchange for your accommodation and meals, we ask you to help us with 4 hours per day over the 5 days working week on outdoor activities such as clearing fallen bark/branches, hand mowing, weeding, stacking fire wood or any other general maintenance work. We also have a 'ride-on' mower that could be used, though only if you are confident in operating it.

Please Note: All efforts on our behalf are made to provide you with the highest level of 'duty of care' so that you can have a safe and secured environment for you to live and work in.

Any negligence on your behalf with regards to personal injury due to careless behaviour or medical conditions as a result of food allergies without us having prior knowledge, we cannot be made liable. We can only accept helpers on our premises who can provide their own personal travel/health insurance cover.

We converse in English and are fluent in the French and Italian languages.

Please view our YouTube videos below that was made on our property & surrounding area by a HelpX couple – Georg and Klarika
https://you.tube/bxbM_PfUC_w
https://you.tube/3_pYdru0Qrw

We were also very privileged that we had another HelpX couple – Sophie Duprat-Caouré and Guillaume Roche, who wrote an article in their French blog about us. See website link
http://keewitouch.com/helpx-macedon-paradise/

If you are planning to explore more fully Asia & Australia, then an absolute must to browse is another HelpX couple's 'Asian & Australia' blog 'Whynot' by Vytis & Evelina Kondrusevicius from Linthuania. We were again very privileged to be included in the 'Australian' section of their blog. See website link:
https://www.wnot.net/australia-helpx

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Jeanette and Alex Syndikas.


reviews (10)
Helper: Pia and Ingmar Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: April 17, 2019
We’ve had the luck to stay with Jeanette and Alex for a second month. Startin... view complete review

Helper: Pia and Ingmar Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 2, 2018
We stayed 3 weeks with Jeanette and Alex as our first helpx hosts and couldn’... view complete review

Helper: Mael and Aurélie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: May 20, 2018
We have just spent one month with Alex and Jeanette, and we had a very enjoya... view complete review

Helper: Jinling and Min Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: April 30, 2018
We strongly recommend everyone choose Alex’s family without any hesitation . ... view complete review

Helper: Alexis and Camille Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: December 30, 2017
Alex’ and Jeanette are such lovely persons ! It was our first Helpx and it wa... view complete review

Helper: Sophie and Guillaume Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: June 11, 2017
We can only recommended this Helpx because it's simply THE PERFECT place with... view complete review

Helper: Angelique and Lucas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 10, 2017
We stayed at their place 11 days. We were really well welcomed. Alex and Jean... view complete review

Helper: Patrick Olvera Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 22, 2017
This was my second HelpX experience and I had a wonderful time. Alex and Jane... view complete review

Helper: Svenja and Niklas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: January 21, 2017
Hey Alex and Jeanette a bit late but we had the MOST wonderful time with y... view complete review

Helper: Jiameng Yang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: November 30, 2016
My stay here was such a great, wonderful, gorgeous.... experience. I felt ree... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use