help exchange   Host 52031
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


GENNETON
All Year: 10 Sept to end Oct/Nov
Area (ha): 1.5 acres / 5 acres
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 52031
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 16, 2019

We are British friends who own two nearby, traditional Maison de Maitre style properties, in 2 small rural villages in North Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle Aquitaine, France(10 minutes apart). We are a single person and a couple, all of whom live in France permanently. The villages are on the border of two departments, Deux-Sevres and Maine et Loire.
We are twenty minutes from Doue en Anjou (formerly Doue la Fontaine), thirty minutes from Saumur on the River Loire, thirty minutes from Thouars and thirty minutes from Bressuire.
The two properties are 20 minutes bike ride apart. We have bikes which you can use. If the weather is inclement we will transport you between the houses by car if you do not have your own transport.
Lifts to places of interest at weekends can be organised by negotiation with us, dependent upon our other commitments.
The villages are both very small and quiet, with no public transport. We do not, currently, have a spare car we can loan to our helpers. There is a bar in each village, which is visited monthly by a fish and chip and kebab van. There is also a small fishing lake in one of the villages.
The accommodation we offer is based at one of these properties,and comprises of a small, self-contained holiday studio, with its own separate access from the main house. The studio consists of one large double bedroom/living/dining room, including a small kitchenette area, with an en-suite shower room, washbasin and toilet. Free wifi access and British TV are offered. Access to washing machine and dryer facilities by arrangement. The studio also has full access to the large garden, with bbq and a large swimming pool shared with the owner. The accommodation would ideally suit a couple. This house is also home to two dogs and a tortoise. The owner of this property, works as a teacher of English in Universities in Angers.Immersion in the English language is guaranteed.
It is our intention to ask for four/five hours of work per day, from each person in the couple, Monday to Friday, with weekends free.
It is worth mentioning that vegan and vegetarian needs are still quite challenging to source in rural France, and are often quite expensive. This situation has improved a little, but it is only fair to point this out. Preparation of breakfast, in the studio, will be your own responsibility using the produce provided.
Every week there is a set amount of money which is for your food etc , how you spend this is obviously your choice entirely.A microwave, slow cooker, electric steamer and low fat grill can be provided if required.Just ask, There is a large bbq in the garden.Each householder will expect you to be independent and self-sufficient in feeding yourselves.

The owner of the studio apartment requires very little work to be undertaken, some strimming and weeding.
The other larger property is where 90% of the work will be required. Gardening and grounds maintenance, planting including weeding, mowing there is a sit-on mower, strimming.
Clearing the lofts of rubble and rubbish.
Basic woodworking skills, cutting and sawing up wood for kindling and stacking wood for the winter.
Some rendering, joinery and building skills would be useful but not necessary.

The helpers must be prepared to be flexible, and must be able to work without constant supervision.
A vehicle would be an asset as the villages are rural.

reviews (1)
Helper: Brian and Geraldine Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 16, 2019
Excellent host and self contained living area, we wanted our own privacy, and... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use