help exchange   Host 54201
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: Less than 4 normally
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54201
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 17, 2020

Welcome to this beautiful shore of a rural island on Norway`s West Coast! An hour from Bergen city with bus.

You can do good to this place, me and the environment in a lot of ways. Your creativity and interests count. It can be gardening; cleaning; painting; other maintenance; construction; cleaning up the sea shore; you name it ... 20 hours a week is fine. You can also help me by discussing my priorities; help structure my time; share opinions; maybe teach me some yoga etc. ...

We'll discuss and make our plans together, and I’ll usually be around, but you’ll work alone most of the time, and you must structure your time yourself. - Work when it suits you.
I provide the instructions you need.
You'll be expected to look for, and try your best to understand, what to care for; to think independently in alliance with me; and to make initiatives!

You'll share kitchen with a woman who rents rooms next to yours.
My helpers normally keep a separate household; including meals. (You buy; I pay.)

I am an introvert, except in my fire heated garden tub (jakousi), where I love the exchange of stories, knowledge, opinions, critique of taboos, laughs, what is on our hearts ... - while we enjoy the gorgeous view over the ocean! We'll share some quality time there most afternoons. This opportunity to connect and enjoy fellowship with strangers (shyness pointless), to exchange stories and cultures etc., is the main reason I host travelers.

I like shared nature experiences at sea too; swimming, hiking and pikniks on islands ... Good company in and around my motor boat, is most welcome!

You`ll have free access to my boat club`s kayaks etc. (12 km away).
Lend my bicycles, row boat, fishing gear ...
I have work clothes and boots in many sizes.

More on me:
Studied a lot
Worked as eg. Nurse, Leader, Bus Driver, Assistant Professor, Government Adviser on Education ...
Member of The Humanist Association
Licenced Ceremony Officiant (wedding couples sometimes)
Grandfather (not the least!)
I value sustainable living. - In our harvesting from the nature, the use of materials, repairing rather than replacing, ... contributing to a clean and healthy environment
I insist upon mutual respect, being considerate and trustworthy

Welcome to this beautiful, peaceful and exciting place for fellowship and solitude, learning and teaching, and great nature experiences!

The short video below is from the bay beneath my house and its close surroundings. Come and explore with me! :-D

I'd appreciate if you add me on Facebook! Link above. (Choose "Open in new tab".)

1: My house seen from the garden tub. Guest kitchen upstairs. To the left in the garden: part of the vegetable beds.
2: My 24-foot motor boat on one of the many remote islands around here. Me diving, with helpers. (Often in winter too!) "Scandinavian way" = no need for swim suits.
3: The ocean and a part of the garden; seen from my house.
Tree house under construction.
Beneath it: my garden jakousi - our primary "connecting place" - essential here.
4 and 5: The two guest rooms. Collapsable sofa (additional bed) added later.
6: My helpers are appreciated company at sea. (Photo of me and my youngest daughter.)

reviews (11)
Helper: Carmine Fiore Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: September 11, 2019
I spent 10 days at Geir Ola's place. Let aside the place and the landscape be... view complete review

Helper: Daria and Oleksandr Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Ukraine Date: December 25, 2018
We had a small experience in volunteering by Helpx this year in Norway. We ha... view complete review

Helper: Qingyao and Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: October 11, 2018
We spent 2 weeks in this fantastic island, we wanted to stay even longer!! Ou... view complete review

Helper: Nina Rochette Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: September 2, 2018
I've really past a good time in Norway, and Geir ola wants to give to you a g... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Clotilde Enguehard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: August 7, 2018
Geir was a great host, we had good time together, lots of things to talk abou... view complete review

Helper: Jana and Tereza Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: July 19, 2018
We stayed at Geir's place one week. Usually we worked 2-3 hours per day. Most... view complete review

Helper: John Ciccone Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: June 21, 2018
Great place near the Sea of Norway with a nice view from the house, but parti... view complete review

Helper: Charles Ieong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Macau Date: March 27, 2018
Geir, sorry for our late feedback. I and Doris have arrived the host of Denma... view complete review

Helper: Teo shy yann and Emily soo wai fun Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Malaysia Date: November 23, 2017
Geir is a nice man. Total 4 of us as his helpers. On the first day when we a... view complete review

Helper: Klára Èvanèarová Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Czech Republic Date: July 14, 2017
Geir is very kind and friendly. I helped him with the work around the house, ... view complete review

Helper: Sara and Callum Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 24, 2017
We stayed with Geir for a week in April 2017. We were welcomed very well and ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use