help exchange   Host 54438
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Adelaide
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54438
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 19, 2019

We are a busy family of 4 people (mum, dad and 2 kids age 6 and 9), and 2 friendly cats who live in the north east suburbs of Adelaide.

We have previously hosted aupairs and helpers from help X and love having an extra person in the house and learning about their culture.

We have a large house with plenty of room for an extra person. Our backyard is full of fruit trees which can offer different fruits depending on the season. We are close to public transport which heads straight into the city. I work just outside the city, so can offer transport into the city or pick you up after work.

We are a busy family where both parents work and kids attend full-time school. Kathy works Monday - Friday and Darren is a shift worker. Both kids have learning disabilities so they have a busy schedule of activities to help them. As a result it can be very difficult to stay on top of tasks around the house.

We are looking for someone to work 3 hours a day in exchange for room and board (3 meals a day). The bedroom is quite big with a Queen bed and has an attached lounge room with TV. Free wifi is also available.

The tasks we need help with include cleaning (tidy kitchen, vacuum, mop, kids laundry, bat). I am also trying to declutter and organise our house and would appreciate some help sorting toys, clothes, kitchen cupboards etc. If you are able to cook, we would love to sample some of your cooking and would be happy to include this time in your work hours. Kathy is studying, so depending on when you stay, you may need to babysit (entertain and play with) the children so that Kathy can complete assignments. It can be very difficult to do an assignment when 2 children want your attention.

There is also some gardening/ outside work available.

We need someone with initiative that is happy to help clean and organise. There are times when Kathy would like company to help sort items and other times you will need to be self motivated to complete tasks while Kathy/ Darren are busy or at work.

We love having a chat in the evening and are happy to help you discover activities to enjoy in Adelaide.

If you have a working holiday visa there is an option for you to work as our Au-pair. This option is available to single females with a driving license. You would be paid for hours on top of the standard 3 hours per day. You would need to be willing to commit for at least 1 month if you wish to Au-pair. More details regarding this option available upon request.

We are available to host now and are open to considering different lengths of stay. Please message us with how long you would like to stay, preferred dates and your ability to contribute to the available tasks.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use