help exchange   Host 54876
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Dunedin
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.2
Persons: Up to 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54876
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2020

Looking for helpers NOW!

This could potentially be a slightly unique experience. I am quite spiritual and have a vision for my home and the people in it. We all bring positive energy and a love for one another. We honour Mother Earth and what she provides, the food on our table and the deep connection we have to nature. We honour ourselves and what we need. This means clear and open communication (expressing needs rather than complaining and talking opening about an issue/speaking our truth), and for me honouring myself means meditating when I need clarity, releasing any angry emotions through sound if I need to in my room, clothing optional, taking time to myself when I need it. We honour each other by listening to one another and sharing deep conversations. When you arrive, I will 'smudge' you - waft the smoke of herbs around you body and facilitate a discussion around desires, fears and boundaries so that we can be on the same page about what we need and how we communicate. This home is a place for conscious communication. Please acknowledge you are ready for this in your initial email to me to request to stay.

That is the experience above. The service I ask of you is 20 hours a week and to come from a heart space of wanting to give and receive. I am really interested in your skill sets and passions and I am more than happy to adapt work to meet your creativity and needs.
The work on the property can be hard and dirty so I need you to have some toughness/resilience about you. Outside work will include weeding, cutting up firewood, moving wood around, digging, planting. If you also want some inside work, this can look like making some yummy food outside of normal meals, sewing, cleaning outside of just day to day clean up and odd jobs.

The living environment;

I love with a beautiful female flatmate who is a doctor and yoga teacher.

I love eating good food. I am mainly vegetarian so expect vegetarian food maybe with some fish or any home kill/ethical meat. I also dumpster dive for a lot of food which you're welcome to come join me for. I am also very into making my own food so you will be able to help with making kefir water and yoghurt, sourdough bread and sprouting seeds. Helping with day to day cooking and/or cleaning around meal time will be expected on top of your 20 hours and I welcome this space to open up into co-creation. What meals can you share? Knowledge? I want this to feel less like me 'hosting' you and more like an equal exchange where you honour the food we eat together and the house that is provided by keeping it clean and tidy.

The house is rural and surrounded by forest but only 15 minutes from Dunedin central. It has incredible views and all day sun. Originally built by a boatbuilder, you feel like you are standing at the front of the deck as you look out. I have three big veggie gardens that need maintaining.

I don't have a spare room so you will be on the fold out couch in the sunroom (see photo below - it has one of the best views in the house!). The house has three living spaces and two fires. It is a 15 minute walk down to the local village of Port Chalmers to go to the cafe or pub. There is a local market the third Sunday of every month and yoga every Monday night. From the village you can easily hitch or take the bus into town about 15 minutes away. You can also borrow my (small) mountain bike.

This placement will work best if you are also happy to be independent. I will make time to spend with you so we can learn and grow off each other, but I won't change my lifestyle or patterns because you are there. You are welcome to join in me in my evening activities which include yoga, surfing and acro yoga.

I am very adventurous and outdoorsy and love to socialise. I am in my early 30s and have travelled widely and HelpX'ed myself around the world so I know what it's like! I trust I can provide a great experience for the right type of person(s).

Since you have made it to the end of a long profile, when you write please detail why you want to come stay, what you would like to offer and what you would like to learn/experience. Also remember to acknowledge what will happen on your arrival and the co-created space around food and cleaning the house.


Much love,

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use