help exchange   Host 54896
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2,5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54896
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 4, 2018

We are a couple with dog, 2 cats and 2 ducks. Already more than a year since we came to live in this land next to Natural Park Sierra de las Nieves. It is a beautiful nature reserve known for its many endemic species, like Pinsapo and Quejijo trees.

In the fall the area is a paradise for mushroom pickers, the winters are cold with snow in the highest peaks, the springs an explosion of flowers and the summers hot and dry, golden colors.

The farm is an olive orchard which has not been taken care for several years. So there is plenty of work to do to bring the olives back to production. Besides that, there are many empty spots where we would like to plant a wide variety of trees. We have started and will continue in the coming months, to implement swales and ponds in order to harvest much more rain water on the field, i.e. passive irrigation. We will as well be doing wind breaks with hugel culture.

The plot has a great variety of native vegetation, which we would like to nurture. There are as well many possibilities for creating microclimates, as the terrain and possition of the farm allows for that.

We would like to create a beautiful little paradise of edible plants and trees, as well as supporting vegetation and animals.

There is already a house in place, with an extra room for guests/volunteers, who would be sharing the common spaces with us. We are working on the energy efficiency of the house. In the coming months we would like to finish insulation the roof, clay plaster on the walls, and floor. We have built a rocket stove and would like to build a bigger one, so it works as water heater and cooking stove as well.

There is possibility of eating with us every day. We eat mainly vegan, with more cooked food in the winter, more raw in the summer. We have been practicing macrobiotic for several years. And we have many influences and experience in cooking, also with mediterranean and raw food.

We like to consume as much as possible organic and local, as long as it is practical. Your suggestions will be wellcome if you have.

There is also some electricity work to do for reducing electricity consumption, which we get from solar panels.

For later on, we would like to build a summer kitchen, outside shower and compost toilett with wood.

Hoping you could have some fun with it.

Use of electricty is limited, we ask responsibility with your devices, charging them during sun hours, this is important for us, as we care for the life of the batteries.

We respect the principles of reduce, reuse, recycle, so we are happy when our helpers share the same principles.

Thank you for considering that we use plants and herbs for self-healing, and consider food and life-style as our own medicine, and take responsibility for how it applies to you. We would like to avoid in our place the use of chemical drugs.

There is risk of fire, so we ask our guests to avoid smoking , or reduce to maximum and be very aware of handling with fire in the whole area. There is prohibition by the government off any fire most part of the year.

In the morning we wake up early to practice some yoga and excercises. We have done yoga teachers training and have experience with several years of practice and do-in exercises (japanese self-massage).

We ask our helpers to share responsibilities and be committed with our project. We have a good relationship with our neighbours and are interested in building networks and community, and much more depending on your openness.

For considering your request please us your previous experiences with physical work and time you spent on volunteer projects. Also you might tell us which work you feel confident with, and please mention also what aspects you like of our project and what motivates you to come help us. We might surprise with our choice for you. Couples are wellcome. Ideally we would prefer longer stays, at least one month and preferably 3 months.

We would appreciate your help and adjusting to our schedules whenever needed. So like to be flexible but we ask for your help for 30 hours a week. Besides, we ask volunteers to spend around 5h per week in cleaning own room and help cleaning common spaces and tools. Also please leave your room when you leave at least as clean and tidy as when you arrived.

There is public transport (bus) from Malaga and Ronda, and then a 15 min. walk. Another possibility is to get by bus to any of the nearest villages Yunquera and/or El Burgo and from there we can pick you up by car.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use