help exchange   Host 55107
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1200 Sq metres +
Persons: 2 - 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55107
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 26, 2020

A large section in the suburbs with a small established native forest and a plethora of native birds and birdsong.

As you arrive it will look like you are in suburbia but the property backs onto a small forest which is peaceful and green!

There is a great forest walk closeby. The train and mall are 20 mins walk away and the bus to the city stops at the top of the street. Piha is a short 20 min drive over the Waitakere Mountains. For those without a car - I can drop to the city or pick up around my working hours.

Three bedrooms, 80sqm with large wrap-around verandahs and beautiful views at tree-top height into the bush. More space downstairs. Very fast, unlimited wifi. Netflix, Spotify etc...

I'm the homeowner, no kids and we have three cats in case you may have allergies. I was a backpacker for many years and enjoyed travelling the world. I like having the opportunity to showcase a Kiwi way of living, help people practice English and find their feet safely in New Zealand. I work for a charity 40 hours per week and tend to get home late.

Health and safety is first and foremost with any volunteering. My focus is that guests are happy and healthy... and leave in as good or better shape than when they arrive. This means using common sense, working within the bounds of confidence and skill and using safely equipment whenever needed. Safe and sanitary food preparation habits is key to a happy, healthy house.

Two cats live inside and are very curious. It's important to me that they are treated kindly.

Vegetarian/vegans are no problem as you're welcome to cook and we have a well-stocked kitchen.

The section is 25 minutes from the central CBD and 35 minutes to the airport.

I try to match the volunteering help with the skills and interest of the volunteers. Help can be given in the morning or afternoon in most cases.Guests can double up helping on days to have other days off.

Key things I'd love help with are gardening projects - experience with landscaping, working with hands etc or building skills for small projects are appreciated.

Other tasks that are helpful - helping keep the house tidy, watering plants and keeping the cat's company.

Thanks for reading!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use