help exchange   Host 55438
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


värtsilä
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .25
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55438
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 29, 2019

Independent Textile Artist and Craft Maker/Luthier couple need help running projects and maintaining a large wooden riverside property in North Karelia, Finland.

If you are independent and self-contained, practical and enjoy making/creating, love the sense of freedom wide wild open spaces give, this could be the place for you :o)

Children Welcome!

We are very easy and flexible so no worries... :D

We are further north than Anchorage, Alaska, and further east than Istanbul, Turkey. Clean waters, pure air and endless forests and waterways to explore. On the Finnish border with Russia. White nights in the summer and northern lights in the winter. It is extremely quiet up here in a fairly isolated village.

Karoliina is a working Textile Artist and Roderick mainly repairs stringed musical instruments. (violins, cellos etc.) ...but also makes a variety of craft including glass jewellery, ceramics, turned wood, etc.

Things to do: General help around the house, kitchen management, gardening, redecorating and renovation work on the house. Whatever suits your skillset best!

We have geo-thermal heating so no need to chop wood except for sauna. :o)

The Art/Craft/Ceramics workshop/studio equipment available for use by SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT:
Electric Ceramics and Glass kilns, Small wood fired kiln, electric potters wheel and kick wheel. A basic propane torch for glass beadwork. Woodlathe and other woodworking tools. Chainsaw and 20" Minimill. Mig-welder and coal-fired field forge and tools. A DIY printing press and all the tools for intaglio, etching, engraving, linocut etc. Also access to full-size weaving looms for carpets etc and a 60" Felting machine, industrial leather walking foot sewing machine and various domestic sewing machines.

There is also a variety of different musical instruments for you to play with and other toys...

You will have free use of a wood fired Sauna, Canoe, Fishing gear and Bicycles. For the winter we have a selection of traditional wooden skis for you and the local ski track starts from the front yard.

One option is shared accommodation with your partner/buddy downstairs in the craft studio. You will have your own kitchen, toilet and front door and shared shower/sauna.
Or your own room upstairs with us...

Free Wi-Fi, but streaming music or video is very sketchy out here on the edge of the Taiga, and best not attempted. :o)

If you are staying in the studio, it can be self-catering, we'll provide all the food you need according to your specification, but also, depending on what is going on, we share meals together. We try to eat organic, local produce whenever possible and depending on the season there is garden produce and forest foraging :o)

The nearest shops are 20km away, and you can use the car if you want to explore the area. There is a bus twice a day on school days. ...and we can pick you up/drop you off at the nearest railway station, no problem.

5 hours per day, 5 days per week, best suited to a stay of two weeks or more. We expect you to take responsibility for your hours. If you want to go somewhere for a couple of days and then make it up later, that is fine, but you have to keep track of things please :o)

No smoking inside the house please.

The border crossing point to Russia is 4km away, so think about a Russian visa while you are here. We drive across into Russia several times a month.

We try hard to maintain our independence and integrity by sustainable practices, awareness of our global footprint and the privilege of being born and raised in the western world. We can't do anything to change the state of the world, but we do what we can by helping in our own capacity the most vulnerable in our society.

Photos: Us; House in winter; Looking from the front door; Morning swim; On the river; Dyeing wool with mushrooms...

reviews (6)
Helper: Katharina and Samuel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: August 27, 2019
Karol and Rod are great hosts and great company. we thoroughly enjoyed the t... view complete review

Helper: Nina and Will Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Finland Date: March 24, 2019
Staying with Rod and Karoliina was one of the highlights of our trip in Finla... view complete review

Helper: Ivan Kozitsin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Russia Date: January 3, 2019
Nice host. I have been here in the middle of the winter around beautiful finn... view complete review

Helper: Narumi Tojo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: February 2, 2018
I stayed with Rod and Karoliina for about 2 months and it was literally wonde... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Victor and Léo Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France, Metropolitan Date: January 22, 2018
Rod and Karoliina are extraordinary hosts: we've had really good times with t... view complete review

Helper: George and Tessa Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 5, 2017
Rod and Karolina are wonderful hosts. We stayed with them for one month this ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use